We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel in a beautiful setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide du Roy Rene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Bastide du Roy Rene to your Saves list
La Bastide du Roy Rene
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   31 Avenue des Infirmeries, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France (Formerly Bastide du Roy Rene)   |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK hotel in a beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights in 2 family suites as we are a large family. The staff that received us were extremely nice, but one of the rooms was not cleaned. The garden in which the hotel is located is unique and beautiful and the building itself is old in a positive, with a historic aura. However, the rooms are in need of a renewal with a lot of the utensils and future being simply old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
36
44
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The building from the outside (once you find it down the road past the Ibis) had charm however this is where the charm stopped.

We stayed three nights and although we ha no car the bus was generallt very good to Aix and only one euro each (taxis were more like 12 euros so can work out costly).

Rooms ok - its budget really... nice to have some facilities. Located on the first floor with a small window (woul be quite hot in summer I imagine) so the rooms are dark. Quite close to the auto route but the noise not so bad..

So many ok things for the money BUT the attitude of the staff was so BAD!!!

Opting for a breakfast first morning the milk was low and there was no bread - I asked if there was any more bread - the answer ."Non" all the guests had it already.... it was a 8 euro breakfast! Appalling not even a sense of apology. Another guest was tol off for getting more milk from the fridge and told what are you doing! There will be none for later!!!! Amazing

The place is a French Fawlty Towers management wise and if it were run differently it would be a good budget option. However my recommendation is stay at the IBIS next door - better value food with excellent evening Buffet restaurant and a pool - only a few Euros more.

Andrew from England

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor only as you have the option of a table and chairs outside to enjoy the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found it easy to find until the last few metres but that could have been the confusion caused by the sports centre holding a very busy event.
I loved the ambience of the building, that you had your own sitting out area shaded by trees and plenty of parking spaces. We arrived early on a Sunday but were able to access the car park and have a picnic lunch whilst waiting for reception to open.
There was reasonable storage in the kitchen and bedroom and access to Aix could not have been easier because of the bus service.
I thought it was ridiculous to charge so much for the use of washing machine and dryer and that it was time that the place was given a re-fit. To say that the fittings were "tired" is a serious under statement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice to stay in such historical property. Very calm and nice ambiance, free parking included. We did also self service laundry, very convenient. We did not go for breakfast unless the kitchen was fully equiped and it was nice to dine on terracein garden.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We do not have so big expectations on this place because it was not so expensive. But we thought the equipment was a little bit old. We had a apartment for four persons but there was no light on the ground floor. We talked to the clerk and they said they will try to fix a lamp. Next day when we arrived in the evening it was dark and no lamp so we could not see anything in the room. We went to the reception and talk to them again and told them that we must have a lamp. This was VERY hard work for them, they have to go to an empty room and fetch a lamp! So we get light in the end. It was not so mutch people staying here when we stayed at the hotel, I thing it was low season.The bed was okey and the kitchen was rader well equipted. The breakfast was good. This place could be really good if they repair the rooms. I am sorry to say but the staff was not so helpful and service minded.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide du Roy Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide du Roy Rene

Address: 31 Avenue des Infirmeries, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France (Formerly Bastide du Roy Rene)
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bastide du Roy Rene 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide du Roy Rene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Aix La Bastide Du Roy Rene Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Bastide Du Roy Rene Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide du Roy Rene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.