We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aquabella Hotel to your Saves list
Aquabella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue des Etuves, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old World beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Aquabella is a lovely hotel and spa for many reasons, but the main attraction is the lovely pool with the old Roman walls. Convenient location to the many restaurants and shops. Wonderful breakfast buffet, very typical French food choices.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    259
    104
    33
    9
See reviews for
62
316
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the first time I visited Aix en Provence and always I tried to book Aquabella what actually isn't that easy because the Hotel is well known.
Located in the centre of the old town and the possibility to reach Marseille or Marignane (Airport) the hotel is the best choice in Aix. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Internet and TV is on high standard. It's worth to visit the Spa.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was fine. It is a modern hotel in an old city. The room was a decent size and what one might expect : comfortable bed ( well 2 single as 1 large - not quite as I would wish), very good bathroom (given recent experience) with a large bath and shower over it, separate loo (not sure why) and lots of hot water - immediately. The towels were changed daily which was as well as they were not really very big. Don't know about the mini-bar as I hardly looked at it. A good room clean and well decorated.
There was a lovely view across the rooftops of the city to the hills beyond. The room faced south which was fine for November but may be a bit too warm in the late summer. There was as seems standard in huge hotels these days an all purpose heating/cooling system which means that opening the door onto the street if you need real air. The local pigeons were quite active billing and cooing but then they have lived there for several thousand generations and I'm only a visitor.
Yep, I enjoyed it. The breakfasts were very good with lots of good breads, fruit and cooked eggs, bacon wurst etc. Good coffee too.
Finally there was the spa - I'm not much of spa person but the sauna and the hammam were fun after a day pounding the street and lolling in the cafes. There is a jack-who-is-he and an outdoor pool for the summer.
Last word on walking in Aix watch your step there are lots of dogs in the city and I never saw a soul clear up after their pooch.

Oh and the desk staff were very helpful too.

Room Tip: They are all much the same but one on the north side might be cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viterbo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

In my opinion, simply the best hotel in Aix en Provence!!
The hotel offers a luxury environment and a wonderful spa. Very comfortable rooms and great room service.
I appreciated the kindness and competence of the staff.
The breakfast is really tasty, wit a plentiful buffet. I also suggest to try the delicious dinner at "l'Orangerie".
In few words: a must if you go to Aix en Provence!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The Aquabella is a superb hotel. The location, right in the middle of the Old town of Aix en Provence is perfect.
As we were there for our Anniversary My Husband had booked us a ‘room with a view’ this was a top floor balcony room that looked out over the rooftops of old Aix all the way to the distant mountains. I would definitely recommend that you make this upgrade, we saw the other rooms without the balcony and they seemed a little dark and closed in.
We stayed for a week in mid September
The room was beautifully laid out with plenty of open space and a nice neutral décor, bed was extremely comfortable and plenty of storage space. Great big French windows were lovely to leave open.
Bathroom and toilet were separate and well sized.
One point there were a real lack of plug sockets for you to do your hair near a mirror was nigh on impossible, next time i will pack an extension lead, also if you have longer hair take your own hair dryer as this one was woeful!
The Balcony was large and had table and chairs and a fabulous view, we had a couple of spectacular electric storms whilst we were there and they might want to think about making the balcony’s at least shower proof, the Reed roof just meant that we got drenched, would have been nice to watch the storm from outside.
The leisure suite at the Aquabella is free for guests to use and was of a high quality with a whole ‘wet suite’, Jacuzzi and gym. They provide robes and towels for your use.
The outdoor swimming pool was magnificent, surrounded by ancient stone walls and a 14th century tower, landscaped gardens and a full bar and restaurant it was a great place to relax, with the bells tolling from the church nearby and a great atmosphere.
We never ate or drank at the hotel as there was so many other places we liked that were vibrant and bustling.
The hotel bar always seemed a little quiet for us.
We walked down into Aix every night, there are a multitude of bars, restaurants, clubs etc all within a few minutes stroll. There is so much to see here and we will certainly return, we loved Aix and we loved this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Everything was perfect.
Great nice pool, beautiful grounds, 3 minutes walk to town and of course the spa!!!
Bathrooms american style, big and modern, huge shower.
We didn't eat at the restaurant but I'm sure they had gorgeous food as we never had a bad meal in France!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Good evening! Thank you so much for your excellent comments. I am pleased you had a good time with us. I hope to see you again in our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I spent two enjoyable nights at the Aquabella. We had a room with twin beds, as we requested, and found the beds quite comfortable, with clean and sufficient bedding. The bathroom had the basic amenities, as well as a hair drier, and the shower had hot water with a good shower head spray. The toilet was separate from the bathroom, which we thought was a good idea. There was a small minibar fridge (good for keeping cold drinks or fruit.) The closet was spacious with plenty of hangers. Sadly, there was no pot to boil hot water for coffee or tea.

The breakfast buffet was nice with a selection of bread and rolls and different jams, croissants and other pastry, cereals, various types of cheese, fruit, yogurt, three kinds of juice, coffee & tea; they also had dry scrambled eggs and bacon, not kept warm (rather poor by American standards). We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, nor did we use the gym or spa available at the hotel, so can't comment on them.

There's an attractive garden outside, with a swimming pool at the foot of lovely remains of an ancient fortified wall. In warmer weather we might have taken advantage of the pool and pleasant terrasse, but it was too cool for this during our visit.

I had some initial problems connecting to the internet, but the hotel staff restarted their system and it worked fairly well thereafter. The staff at the reception seemed friendly and helpful. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout until our departure from Aix.

The Aquabella is very conveniently-located and we walked everywhere, including to the bus station, Cezanne's atelier, the Granet Museum, and the tourist office. All in all, my friend and I were very pleased with this hotel and certainly would stay here again if we ever come back to Aix-en-Provence.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Good evening, thank you so much for your good comments ! I am glad you had a good time in our hotel. I hope to see you again in Aix en Provence. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Address: 2, rue des Etuves, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquabella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.