We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aquabella Hotel to your Saves list
Aquabella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue des Etuves, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were really pleased with the Aquabella - the location was excellent, the rooms were lovely, and the staff was terrific in every respect. While the nearby streets may have been a little spooky late at night, you were always a short block or two from a main street or a piazza, or whatever they call it. It was no more than a ten-minute walk to any place in town, and it was always a pleasure to return to our lovely hotel after dinner. Awesome town, terrific hotel, cool markets, good shopping, solid dining, great pastries!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    259
    104
    33
    9
See reviews for
62
316
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here in June for 5 days. We had a "priveldge" room, one that had a balcony. The room was pristine and the view was overlooking the old city. Not to be believed! On the balcony was a table and two chairs, where we sipped wine in the evening hours, gazing out at such a beautiful city. Prior reviews complained about the noise coming from a 'college" bar downstairs. While we heard some noise during the late hours if outside, we heard none inside the room. It wasn't a problem at all. The restaurant had a daily special formula for dinner-that is pricing with appetizer and entree or entree with dessert or one that included beverages. The food was delicious, beautifully prepared and a good value. The pool was wonderful as well. Overall, really nice facilities including a spa(which we didn't use).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor(we were on the 4th or top floor and a priviledge room for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Aix En Provence is a beautiful antique town which combined historical places with a modern shops.
the hotel is located in the edge of the Old City.
very good location 1 minutes from all the restaurants.
the breakfast was simple and great with a good Atmosphere and great views near the swimming pool and the turret.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.
It is in an excellent location and a very easy walk
to the centre of Aix, with many restaurants, bars , shops and markets.
We had breakfast at the hotel which was great, you could sit inside or
outside. We always sat outside which we loved but do not leave your breakfast
unattended as the pigeons tend to jump on to your table and help themselves.
The pool area is fantastic, set behind a great old wall. Was great to have a swim
after the wondering around the old streets of Aix. The room we found comfortable
and clean. Would of loved to keep the window open but we had the noise of all
the air conditioners below our room so a bit noisy, though was comfortable with the air con on
but it is to have fresh air as well.
The staff were good and very helpful when I wanted to book a tour to the surrounding areas.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front of the hotel on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. The rooms are decorated in a simple but effective style ( we had a room with a balcony) and are very comfortable. Room service is good and we had the best nights sleep we have ever had in any hotel.
The restaurant is very good with some excellent dishes, regional or otherwise and although quite expensive, compares well to other restaurants in Aix.
There is a lovely swimming pool with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun and also a very enticing terrace restaurant for lunch. We ate here almost every day for a week because the service was so friendly and efficient and the food was delicious.
The staff are very welcoming and always ready to help. This was the second time we have stayed in this hotel and we will return again.

Room Tip: The 'privilege' rooms have a balcony overlooking the town. These are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. We were supposed to stay 3 but our plans were cut short a night because of the tornadoes in OK. The management was so kind to not charge us for cancelling a night a short notice! This hotel is beautiful! The pool is more beautiful than in the pictures! The breakfast is delicious although I wish it had been included as it is at most hotels. But it was better than most! Perfect location! The bar in the lobby is such a great spot for a nightcap or to sit for a while! I would stay here again! LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is located in walking distance of the center of Aix En Province which is both delightful and beautiful. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous; it was too bad our room was in the back of the hotel over looking alleys and back of buildings, plus there was a "college" bar below which prove to be noisy during late night hours..... We tried to upgrade, but the hotel claimed they were full at the time, so I suggest book a "Privileged" room in advance and ask for one in the front! The rooms were clean and adequate for a comfortable stay. The staff at the reservation desk and the restaurant on the grounds were not so friendly. They would take their time to assist or serve you and when they finally did acknowledge you it was with an "attitude". There was one staff member, the bartender Nicholas, who was our shining star and went out of his way more than once to assist us and serve us, plus recommend great places to dine while there. We did not use the spa as it was also booked at the time we visited, but it did look impressive! The pool was very nice and we did manage to enjoy a dip in it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Address: 2, rue des Etuves, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquabella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.