We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spa hotel, great location, walkable to central bus station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aquabella Hotel to your Saves list
Aquabella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue des Etuves, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Nice spa hotel, great location, walkable to central bus station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We returned for a second time, having stayed here last year. We stayed four days in all, booking a reasonable package with breakfast inclusive on an online hotel agency. The hotel is well located, next to some student residences and within walking distance to the St Sauveur cathedral and the shopping areas and restaurants within old Aix. The Cours Mirabeau and the Saturday markets were within easy reach too.

Check in was efficient and courteous. The rooms are fairly spacious and I like that the WC is separate from the bathroom. Toiletries were fair though I found the ones provided last year of a better quality. Air con worked well. Bath robes and slippers were provided for use to the spa and pool. Free wifi was a big plus. The fitness area was small, with a threadmill, a stationary bike, an arm bike and an elliptical rider. There were hammas, saunas, and a semicircular jacuzzi which was extremely popular. The pool was a reaonable size (do not expect to do laps!) with a wading portion at one end.

I enjoyed the breakfast immensely. Breakfast is served at the restaurant l'Orangerie. This was what was offered daily on the buffet: coffee, variety of fine teas, hot and cold milk, soya milk, variety of cereals, variety of artisanal breads ( I loved the walnut and olive breads which were wonderfully Provencal), jams, honey, cakes, baguettes, croissants, pain du chocolat, cold cuts, cheese, pate (spreads), scarmbled eggs, boiled eggs, eggs to soft boil, sausages, bacon, fresh fruit, grapefruit and orange segments, yoghurt.

I disagree that the staff at l'Orangerie were anything but professional and polite. They spoke good English too. While the a la carte was a tad pricey, the set meals were really very reasonable. Going by the name le menu Alto, this gets you a starter, a main course, a dessert, wine, bottled water and coffee for 27 Euros. The food was very good.

From the hotel you can walk and reach the central bus station within 15 minutes if you do not have heavy luggage. We walked there one day to catch the shuttle to Marseille.

We will defintely return to this hotel the next time we visit Aix-en-Provence.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    282
    118
    40
    10
See reviews for
68
357
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
617 helpful votes 617 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Aquabella is a spa hotel, so it has a great swimming pool and all the other spa facilties you might expect - many are free to guests. The general location is fine, just at the northern edge of the old town.
Rooms are clean, but starting to look a bit tired, decent air conditioning though.
Breakfast is expensive if you don't have it booked as part of your package, but cheaper alternatives are only a few minutes away.
Though reception staff are welcoming and polite, this is not necessarily true of the staff in the Orangerie restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My family stayed here for two nights, and we loved it. The rooms were large and clean, and service was very friendly. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were nice. Our safe wasn't working, so we called downstairs and they immediately sent someone up to fix it.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious. There were so many choices, including a ton of fresh fruit. It was a great way to start off a day of exploring Aix. Speaking of exploring, this hotel is in a wonderful location. It's not right in the middle of everything, so it's a nice peaceful place to come back to.

We didn't use the pool, spa, or gym, because we were too busy exploring, but we walked through, and they looked nice--I guess that just means I need to go back! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had some reservations about this hotel based on the mixed reviews of tripadvisor. However we were happily surprised to find a nice hotel, clean, big rooms, and very well located. The breakfast was good, although we recommend you not to sit outside because the amount of pigeons pecking on the food. The swimming pool was very nice and the spa services really appealing. We will stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were very surprised with our stay at this hotel, specially because we booked it so far in advance and had forgotten completely about the spa. The hotel is pretty good. It's not luxurious at all, but it has everything you could need. The room decoration is basic but it's very funcional. Breakfast was very good and staff very friendly. Parking was easy in a location nearby. Walking distance to the city centre. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked this hotel as a stop over to see Aix en Provence on our way to the Languedoc for a week on the beach. We didn't really see much of the hotel as we literally dropped our bags and went out into town to explore, have drinks and dinner. The location was great, a very short walk into the old town through charming streets. We even managed to find our way back after quite a few drinks!
The hotel was clean and the staff were really friendly. Unfortunately we did not check out the pool or the spa but lots of people seemed to be very happy in their robes!. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again should we go back to the region.

Room Tip: Book via booking.com for the best rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel was wonderful, clean, spacious rooms, patio off the bedroom, seperate toilet closet in the room opened up the bathroom that had a spacious tub and shower. The beds were comfortable and the bedding light and comfortable. The hotel had a large outdoor heated pool and spa facilities that were wonderful. Everything you needed for a relaxing visit, whirpool. wet and dry steam, sauna and these incredible individual shower stalls that you could adjust for tropical rain or warm soaking, just fantastic and included in Hotel stay. Hotel staff very accomodating and everyone spoke English. The front desk staff made calls for us to verify flight info and rental car return. They were also very helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants. Parking is validated at the Hotel and is $10.00 per day. The garage is very tight but doable if careful. We had no problem.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Address: 2, rue des Etuves, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and EasyToBook so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquabella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.