We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frayed around the edges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Christophe to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Christophe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 av Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Frayed around the edges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in need of an update and a polish. It is worn and outdated.
Room was very small. The kind hotel staff upgraded us to a room with a balcony - and we were quite grateful because without that the room would have been stifling.

The location, however, is great. It is close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    128
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
28
109
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Our 2nd visit to the Saint Christophe, and I forgot just how lovely it was. In fact it seemed even better than i remembered. The style is very art deco, but beautifully decorated. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The location is perfect and central to everything. We were given a room with quite possible one of the best views in Aix. And no stay is complete without dinner at the popular Brasserie Leopold downstairs. Great food, and service in true French Brasserie style. Top marks all round!!

Room Tip: Room 403 has a great view of the Rotonde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, March 1, 2015
Bonjour ,

Thank you very much for your comment on TA.

It is a very positive comment and we are glad to read it.
Our objectif is to achieve what you're describing in your comment.

We hope to host you for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly to obtain the best price deal.

Best regards
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This delightful art-deco hotel enjoys a perfect location on the main square of charming Aix. It's an easy stroll to restaurants, shopping, the Granet Museum, the bus terminal, and the in-town train station. The staff was wonderful: friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Breakfast at the Brasserie Leopold was excellent. My husband and I were given a triple room, which was quite spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and sparkling clean. We could not have asked for a more perfect center from which to experience the lovely town of Aix.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Bonjour Madame,

We thank you for your post on TA.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our premises.

We will be glad to host you for your next visit and we encourage you to contact us directly to benefit from our best offer and promotions.

Best regards
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We stayed here for 3 weeks back in June of 2013 and forgot to rate it. Very good service. Their restaurant is good also though hard not to have this in Axe. We changed rooms as first room did not have a view. Only a 3 star government rated hotel (France gives very accurate ratings to their hotels, based on items that include amenities in the hotels) but it was what we wanted for 3 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Peter,

We would like to thank you very much for your post on TP.

We will be please to host you for your next stay in Aix-en-Provence.

Do not hesitate to contact directly to benefit from our best rates and promotions offer.

Best regards
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blace, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The Hotel Saint Christophe is not masquerading as anything it’s not! This is a 3 star hotel and as such I rate it highly. The staff are friendly and courteous. As a disabled (wheelchair using) guest the room we booked worked. Naturally it could have been bigger, it could have had a better view, a balcony etc etc but this is a 3 Star hotel.

My bathroom was very well equipped and the 2 big or enormous selling points for the hotel are 1) its position – right beside the La Rotonde (the central meeting point in Aix) and 2) the restaurant which I will review separately as it is worthy of its own mention, but the Brasserie Léopold is a must if you’re staying – and I don’t mean just for breakfast – I mean for a real meal!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Mr. Newton,

We thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are always doing our best to satisfy our guests and we are glad that you appreciated that.

The room you booked is designed and built to be as comfortable as possible for wheelchair using persons. In order to be easy to access to it, it is situated on the ground floor so that is maybe the reason why the view is not the best we can offer. We inform you that we do have rooms with balcony which are situated on the 3rd floor and offer a better view but unfortunately they are not suitable enough for disabled persons.

Furthermore, we appreciate that you mentioned the location of our establishment, which is indeed one of the best in Aix-en-Provence, right in the heart of the city.

We are happy to learn that you liked our restaurant too. Our chef Franck Legrand puts his heart and soul into our Brasserie Léopold.

We hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Daniela/Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This hotel's location can't be beat and the food it offers is excellent too. My room was quite small and fronted on the main street. Fortunately, closed windows covered by heavy drapes plus the drone of the air conditioner created enough quiet for sleep. The bathroom was teeny, close to unacceptable -- that's the main thing that made me rate this hotel very good as opposed to excellent.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Good evening,

We would like to thank you very much for your post on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that you enjoy the restaurant as well.

We understood that your room was a bit tiny (bathroom included).
Indeed, standard room are a bit tiny, however we offer superior room larger for your next stay which might suit you better.

We hope to see you again soon in Aix-en-Provence and in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Check in was easy by very competent and friendly staff. Although the hotel is old, it is very charming! The rooms are not large but the beds and pillows are very comfortable. ( I am very fussy about my pillows and found the ones in the room to be most pleasing.) The bathroom is small and we had a little difficulty manoeuvring the hand held shower so the bathroom floor did not flood, but once we figured it out it was fine. The hotel is very quiet and we enjoyed several good nights' sleep. Although the spaces are small, parking can be arranged in the basement for a fee of 13 Euros per night. The best part about the hotel is its location. It is in the heart of Aix which makes it the perfect spot to stay while enjoying this lovely city. The hotel has a very popular restaurant which is highly rated in the city. We had a little trouble with the WiFi, but the hotel staff were always available to lend a hand. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions pour l'avis que vous avez posté sur Tripadvisor.

Nous sommes ravi que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé au sein de notre établissement.
Nous restons à votre disposition pour votre prochain séjour à Aix-en-Provence.

Bien cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Christophe

Address: 2 av Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Christophe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Christophe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.