We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantine

La Cantine
13 Rue Bouteille, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
04 42 67 29 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #315 of 581 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great casual spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been to La Cantine several times, and it never fails to please. Our last visit included a light and creamy mushroom gnocchi, a lovely cheesy stuffed eggplant, beef carpaccio, and salads all around. Nice glasses of rose, and a beer. The service is friendly, the setting is very "Aix" and we just love it here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    32
    5
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We went back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived late into town on our first night in Aixe en Provence from the train and they were very kind. So we returned for a meal later in the week. It was an excellent meal in a beautiful setting. Very quiet and the food was very good. thank you

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Such a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our first night in Aix and we found this spot.

It was perfect, in a quiet hidden corner, under trees with a great atmosphere.

Corsican food was predominant, and this was just so good.

Ideal spot away from the maddening crowd, classy, yet not imposing.

We will go back as a treat before we leave in a few days time

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch...beautiful outdoor setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a fabulous lunch here after it was recommended by a wonderful local gourmet guide. We all enjoyed market fresh salads chock full of delicious, unusual ingredients--I wish I had that salad right now!!!

We were disappointed when the outdoor seating area was full, as indoors was less than special--however, once we were seated inside and saw a table open up on the terrace, they gladly moved us outside.

This was fabulous people watching as well, with lots of elegant Aix locals, as well as visitors like us.

I can't wait to go back and try some of the paninis, etc!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A Decent Bite To Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We ate at La Cantine last night. We ordered the Corsican Sampler and a Salade Perigourdine. Both were very tasty. The meat on the Sampler was high quality and very fresh. The Salade Perigoudine had a warm vinaigrette which really enhanced the flavor and the small piece of fois gras was delicious, served on toast with Corsican Orange Marmelade. We added a bottled of local chilled rose and had a nice light dinner for 50€.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantine also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Cantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.