We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but in dire need of renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Caravelle

Hotel La Caravelle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Caravelle to your Saves list
Hotel La Caravelle
29 boulevard du Roi-Rene, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
omer
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Location but in dire need of renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night only while visiting friends in Aix-en-Provence. Booked this hotel because of the reasonable price and the excellent location, right at the corner of rue de l'italy and 10 minutes away from the train station. Didn't expect much. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was small but adequate. The lift is tiny. The room was clean. The bathroom is in dire need of renovation. Our room was facing the street and we had a small terrace. The street is busy during the day but quite quiet at night. All in all will stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor will ensure less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
11
52
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived at night to this hotel. I have chosen it mostly looking at its location. It's a 10 minutes walk to the station so it was perfect. The staff was friendly and they stored our bags for a day.
The room was clean, beds were a bit small so not too comfy to sleep. The bathroom looked like it was recently renovated, quite modern with a very nice shower.
I would recommend it if you are looking for a short stay and if you are on the budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

La Caravelle lies at the border of the old town of Aix-en-Provence. The location is excellent, however reaching the hotel by car may be a bit frustrating, since the circle road around the old town by which you have to approach the hotel is one-way only and you may have to do almost a full circle around the town centre until you can take the right turn. There is a park house next to the hotel which is probably your best option if you want to leave the car not too far away. Or, if you are really lucky, you may get one of the two parking slots right by the hotel.

The room was a bit of a let-down. We took the room facing the street (there are also rooms facing the garden which are a little more expensive) since we are usually not easily disturbed by street noise. However, the problem was not the noise, but rather the decoration. Dark, stained carpets, dull furniture, dull colors, old mattresses. It was functional, that's the best you could say about it. The ventilator was a plus - it can get pretty hot in Provence.

What made up for the dullness of the room was the friendliness of the stuff. They were extremely helpful, helped us solve a problem that evolved on the way to the hotel, recommended wonderful eating places and helped us plan our trips through- and out of town. The hotel stuff are the real treasure of La Caravelle and the reason why we didn't regret booking the hotel in the end.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, consider paying the extra 10EUR for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel La Caravelle in Aix. The hotel was simple and quaint, but more than comfortable. The location was great, the staff were helpful and everything was clean. It was great for the price. I would stay there again if looking for a budget-friendly option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've just come back from Aix, and wanted to review La Caravelle, as I think it has been unfairly described. My mum and I found the hotel staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. Our third floor twin room was at the front, and because of the hot weather we kept the balcony doors open, so it was noisy, but with earplugs (silicon ones are the best!) it was fine. The room had a fan which was useful. The room was well furnished, and the bathroom was very clean and worked perfectly. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean, and pleasantly decorated. (I think it's recently been renovated?) The breakfasts were delicious too. La Caravelle is also perfectly situated just round the corner from the old centre of Aix - we had a choice of many different little restaurants all less than 5 minutes walk away, and it was close enough to drop off our bags of shopping (the markets are FAB!) and then return to shop some more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If choosing a room at the front, take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Despite the other reviews, I thought I would give it a try. Was only staying in Aix for the night. My room was simple, facing the street. I had a queen sized bed and my own bathroom. Be careful as some rooms have the bathrooms outside of their rooms.

I stayed in March, so the weather was cool. I didn't feel the need to open the windows. The street is pretty busy and if the weather had been warm, opening the windows would have made it a little loud.

I found the hotel to be comfortable and clean. There are renovations going on. My room had not been renovated. The front desk agents were very friendly and helpful. If you aren't expecting luxury, this is a great option. You are just around the corner from the old town with lot's of shops and restaurants.

The train station is about a 15 minute walk, but the bus station is a bit of a haul.

Room Tip: In the winter rooms on the street side aren't bad. In the summer or warmer months, you would wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is located on the edge of the historical town, so everything is walking distance - lovely cafes and book stores, museums, restaurants. Right across are a couple of supermarkets for any supplies, and a laundromat is also not far. The bus station is bit of a walk though. The hotel itself is bit jaded, and tad bit expensive for what it offers, but the staff and owners are terribly friendly. The rooms are quite miniscule, with little space around the bed. All in all, not too bad, but if I ever go again to this student town famous for Cezanne, I'll probably check out somewhere else that offers better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Caravelle

Address: 29 boulevard du Roi-Rene, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Caravelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.