We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Questionable Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Pigonnet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Pigonnet to your Saves list
Hotel Le Pigonnet
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Avenue du Pigonnet, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Questionable Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely grounds makes eating al fresco here on a sunny day a real pleasure and the food & wine are undoubtedly good. However this is all at a cost. Lunch on a Sunday with one bottle of a less expensive wine was well over €100 each. A "superior" double room well equipped and with a good garden view was so small the bed wouldn't allow the french doors to open fully...we expected much more for €350 a night! If you are looking for value beware!

Room Tip: See Review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    108
    62
    24
    13
See reviews for
35
213
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beresford, South Dakota, USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only one night during a business trip. The rooms were ok (not really anything to write home about, although the bathroom was pretty nice). However, the grounds were absolutely amazing. We took loads of photos of the trees pool, and other areas. The entire hotel had a gracious air about it, and the staff helped us with a number of questions and such. The breakfast outside was amazing, but what wouldn't be with French pastries, homemade breads, fresh yogurt and juice?

The hotel layout rambles a bit, and it took me a few tries to find my room. However, one of the best things is that the hotel is only a few hundred meters from the downtown, which is a nice 10-minute walk.

I would love to come back to this place again when I have more time.

Room Tip: Garden view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. This really is a special find. The hotel itself is within walking distance of the town but why would you want to leave. The rooms are well equipped and clean. We ate breakfast in the restaurant which was a continental with warm raisin bread, a real treat. There is a small gym but it has all the equipment and weights needed and it also has an outdoor swimming pool. However, the main attraction for us was the wonderful quiet gardens where you can waste many an hour reading and drinking some wonderful Provence wine. It is peaceful, restful and cathartic. I could quite easily live in this hotel, Well worth a visit if you are in the region I cannot think of anything negative to say about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed two nights here and moved. The people are lovely as are the grounds. The rooms are not up to snuff to say the least. We stayed in the Villa. It was a little like staying in someone's converted garage. The floors were sticky and the windows looked out onto the driveway. To have privacy you have to close wooden shutters. Not that big of a deal but we went to the south of France for the sunshine and beauty. While in the room it was dark and gloomy with virtually no lamps. But if the shutters were open the other guest could walk past the windows. The entrance was across the driveway from the front door. We walked into town each day and felt like the location was a bit sketchy. Not unsafe but a little rough around the edges.
We moved to the Gallici for our remaining two nights. The location and experience were night and day. I would not recommend the Pigonnet. The service was nice but the rooms are a bit like an old Best Western in need of an update.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKHAM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed mid May with a group of ladies, while hotel was still under construction (they promised construction would be over by May 1st); smell of paint in all rooms, workers smoking on site indoors, plumbing had problems, some rooms had no phone to front desk, drilling at 8:15am on a Saturday! Furniture in rooms were NOT at a 5 star level; looked IKEA
Restaurant very posh and outrageously expensive (36 euros for a green salad!). Our overall experience was quite disappointing and for the price we would not only NOT recommend this hotel and will not return to it either!
Staff very nice but directors need to be more humble when addressing customers. A Five star hotel does not have the right to treat its guests in such a manner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with good sized rooms (we booked the deluxe) overlooking a stunning garden and beautiful decor. The staff is attentive and helpful, doing their best to satisfy every need. Breakfast ($15 euro daily package or a la carte) was very good and we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant one evening as well. My lamb was cooked to perfection and delicious.

Yass, the bar manager, was delightful! We ate in the lounge on two evenings, and he worked with the kitchen to prepare the perfect light meal we desired, including vegan options for our friend.

A bit expensive, but my only real complaint is that the hotel reeks of fragrance and severely aggravated my allergies. For that reason, I would likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Back from a weekend in Aix staying at Le Pigonnet and still wondering what thethe hype is all about this place.

We booked a garden room which was small and not particularly well-appointed nor decorated. Bit bland tbh.

I guess this place is all about the gardens and the use of the outside. It was therefore unlucky for us that the weather was miserable and we could not really enjoy the outside facilities (pool, terrace, long bar..)

On the plus side, service was perfect, and very attentive. Breakfast was also lovely. We booked diner at their restaurant and this was the highlight of these two days with them. Food was perfect, good choice of wine, service again excellent.

All in, an experience clearly above average but not what I was expecting at this level of price. Again with the poor weather, I guess we benefited only vaguely from the place but I can picture how it becomes magical when the sun is out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Pigonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pigonnet

Address: 5 Avenue du Pigonnet, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Pigonnet 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century Provencal mansion in beautiful floral gardens, Hotel Le Pigonnet is a secluded hotel just outside the centre of Aix-en-Provence. Promising a peaceful Eden with a grand gated entrance and classic facade framed by elegant Genoese-style towers, it offers a gourmet restaurant, a club-like bar and a Moroccan-styled lounge. The crackle of logs or the songs of cicadas provide the seasonal soundtrack by the fire or on the summer terraces with views over the garden to Mount Sainte Victoire. Each individually-styled room at Hotel Le Pigonnet is rich in Provencal decor and furnishings and has a warm, homely ambience. Hide away in one of Hotel Le Pigonnet's garden nooks on a comfy chair and soak up the country views. Cool off in the pool or relax in a shady area complete with an attractive stone statue. Enjoy bistronomic dining in the restaurant where the cuisine is modern French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Pigonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pigonnet Hotel
Le Pigonnet Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Pigonnet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.