We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming small restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Alcove

L'Alcove
19, rue Constantin, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
+33 4 42 96 47 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 576 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $23 - $44
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: L'Alcôve is situated just a step from the law court of Aix en Provence in the street Constantin perpendicular of the street Mignet,possesses a welcoming terrace with a view of the church Sainte-Catherine. In a smart and relaxed frame both managers invite you to discover a French quality cuisine. Having made their weapons in France and abroad They decided to settle down in Aix. In an arched room of the 18th century with a contemporary decoration Olivier Ros, Head chef proposes you a sophisticated menu which changes as the seasons go by. While Pierre Chatelain, head waiter, will recommend you wines selected to sublimate the proposed dishes.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charming small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a delicious meal in this small and pleasant restaurant in the old area of Aix, owned and enthusiastically run by two young men, the chef and the friendly and helpful sommelier/waiter, who was celebrating his birthday that night but still hard at work. The feel of the restaurant is casual, but profession; the owners are serious and imaginative about the food and attentive about the service.
I had an appetizer of shallots caramelized in balsamic vinegar, served with mesclun, pieces of sosa (a chickpea pancake), and goat cheese; a main course of the canette (female duck), served with a yam mousseline, and a dessert of vanilla-lemon verbena (verveine) creme brûlée; the waiter also gave us a taste of a digestif that he made himself with verveine. We had a delicious wine he suggested from a winery near Avignon that was a robust red.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    118
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent and Unexpected Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were so happy to have found this restaurant. If we had seen it from the street, we would have never booked a table, but we read some reviews while at our hotel and decided to check it out - we were happy that we did. It is down a small side street, not far from the Aix Cathedral. We were worried at first, because we did not see anyone sitting outside. When we entered, we realized we had to go downstairs (a very compact staircase) and were basically in a wine cellar. The ambiance was very nice. I would think that there is room for only about 26 or so diners. It is somewhat noisy due to the cave atmosphere. The menu is limited, but very interesting. We had the 3 course fixed price menu. My husband had the lamb and I had the scallops, with an entree and dessert. The food was very good, and a great value, as was the wine. The service was great and we would both recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had lunch here on a wet day in Aix, and it turned our day around. We found out were there on the 3rd anniversary of the restaurants opening. Great service and wonderful food, Thank you to Pierre (FoH) and Olivier (Chef de cuisine), for a delightful lunch. You are both very capable young men, and you should be truly proud of the restaurant you have created.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Don't be put off by the uninspiring frontage in a small side street, the food and atmosphere in this basement restaurant is really good. We arrived for dinner, opted for the 35 euro three course menu and had a good choice from a range of imaginative French dishes. I enjoyed every mouthful of each course and my husband (who is a keen amateur cook) had nothing but praise for his meal. The service was friendly and efficient with the waiter being happy to explain any dishes on the menu that we were unable to translate. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and it was a lovely way to round off our holiday in Aix.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This small restaurant is run by two old friends (one is the chef, the other the waiter/sommelier) who do a great job serving up creative French cuisine and have a great time doing it. The food is very good. The atmosphere - inside an old stone wine cellar - is charming. But the best part for me was that these two friends were having fun showing their clientele a good time. It wasn't just a good meal, it was a fun experience overall. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Alcove also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Alcove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Alcove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.