We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room at a good price, but service must be improved,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Appart'Hotel Floridianes

Save Saved
You added Appart'Hotel Floridianes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appart'Hotel Floridianes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Boulevard Charrier, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good room at a good price, but service must be improved,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Hotel is located in a fairly dull but quiet neighborhood 5-10 minutes walk from the citycenter. Parking is quite comfortable in the garage of the Hotel at only 10 EUR per day.

The rooms are recently modernised and are very good to the price (140 EUR for a 4 person room in peak season).

Poor service is the major negative. We had booked the room for three persons, but had to ask for towels and pillows for our daughter from a grumpy night porter. Cleaning between first and second night was a joke with the beds barely made.

Breakfast was not worth the money - you are better off taking breakfast on a cafe in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Looking forward to checking out of this hotel today. I have stayed here 5 nights with my wife and 2 daughters (16 and18). Our 18 year old has Down syndrome so I booked a "suite" which supposedly slept 4 people thru booking.com. We have travelled a lot in Europe, Asia , the US as well as at home in Australia and have stayed in all levels of accommodation. This "suite" was barely big enough for 2 people, let alone 4. They did manage to find us another room, but instead of €900 for 5 nights, it suddenly became €1800. We were also unable to be close to our disabled daughter, which caused further stress. As the room was booked thru booking.com, if we left, we would be charged the €900 and as both the Festival d'Aix and the the Tour de France were in town, no other rooms were available.
The rooms had toilets which smelt, the sheets were stained, we lost hot water for probably half our stay. The staff were not trained properly and when we asked for our bill last night and who to complain to, they had no idea. There was not even an offer of a small gesture to make up for all the stuff ups, such as refunding our parking (€50).
Aix is a lovely town, but our experience was soured by this substandard ( their sign says they're 4 stars) stay! DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE NO ALTERNATIVE!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creal Springs, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful in meeting our needs. We did change rooms from the older section to the newer section which went smoothly. It was nice to have the small kitchenette area and community laundry at the end of our 23 day trip in France. The location was quiet and yet close enough to everything. The rooms are nice sized with spacious bathrooms compared to most European accommodations although not sparkling clean. It was too cold to use the pool but it appeared adequate but stark. The continental breakfast food was suitable but the young women working that day was rude so we opted not to return.

Room Tip: request the newer area of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a newly remodeled room and Eric at the front desk was more than helpful, showing us on the map where to go and what to see. I would definitely recommend this place if you like to have a kitchen.

Room Tip: Room #2 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for 7 weeks, work and holiday. When we initially arrived, we checked into a room with balcony on the first floor. It was dark, small, old enough to look permanently dirty and I was fairly depressed at the thought of staying there.

Luckily we requested a move to the second floor, and a much nicer room at the end of the hall - bigger with newer decor. On the downside, the bed is pretty poor - basically two single foam mattresses pushed together on a normal base. Something you can stand for a few days but which is rough going for an extended period!

The room is serviced once per week which isn't enough. We routinely ask for extra towels, linen, rubbish bags etc when we come across the cleaners but they are always obliging.

I understand there was a fire here a few years ago, which is why some of the rooms have newer decor than others. We had a normal household smoke detector in our room and when it started chirping due to low batteries, my husband took it down to reception and I note it was never replaced.

Kitchen is small but adequate enough for heating a premade meal for two with the hob or microwave. Funnily enough we have a decent coffee machine (even though there is a kettle provided) but no toaster. There are no dishcloths/teatowels/detergent etc provided, so if you plan to use the kitchen you'll have to invest in a few basics.

I've read in other reviews that the staff have been rude, and I must say I haven't experienced this at all. Everyone I have dealt with has been perfectly nice, but as mentioned with the cleaning you need to ask for what you need.

I found the location to be fine, probably easier than staying in the city centre if you have a car. Tip - there's a small but very tasty pizza stall directly across the road outside the bowling alley which I highly recommend for those wanting a fast, cheap (and friendly) dinner.

In summary, it's perfectly adequate but definitely not 4 stars. There is a big discrepancy between room size/quality so take a bit of care when choosing a room. And don't be afraid to ask for what you need, including internet tickets - if you are polite the staff are willing to help.

Room Tip: We stayed in 219, which was at the end of the hall. The end rooms are generally bigger than the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not clean, not fully equipped kitchen, not comfortable bed...
There are two rooms in second floor with a balcony that are ok , but most of them are NOT newly renovated as advertised. Most rooms are small and in need of renovation. I suspect some of the reviewers had one of these.
The pool area was ok but tired looking and shabby.
The dishwasher was full of dirty kitchenware when we arrived. There was no coffeemaker.
It´s a bit outside the city center, so if you want to stroll the old town you first have to walk about 20 minutes to get there.
I´m not the complaining type, but to sleep for two weeks in a absolutely horrible bed was not nice. Some of the staff were friendly, some definitely not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Appart'Hotel Floridianes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'Hotel Floridianes

Address: 24 Boulevard Charrier, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel)
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Appart'Hotel Floridianes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Appart'Hotel Floridianes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Aix Floridianes
Quality Hotel Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appart'Hotel Floridianes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.