We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cezanne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cezanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40, Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Cezanne and loved the hotel. The rooms are not big, but the bedding is gorgeous and beds extremely comfortable and the bathroom was clean with nice large towels. You have free coffee from Neospresso machine in the corridor of each floor which was divine. The highlight of this hotel was definitely the service. All the women who worked the front desk were friendly, helpful and very kind. We needed a doctor for our teenage daughter who unfortunately got sick and they were able to get an appointment for us with an english speaking doctor within 2 hours of asking! The hotel is very well situated and the center of town is easily reached on foot within 10 minutes. The breakfast at the hotel is very pricey but if you walk around the corner as you exit to the left, the little breakfast cafe with the tables outside is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    233
    60
    24
    19
See reviews for
104
345
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a night at the Cezanne and it was fine. The room was very tiny, the design is interesting but looked rather cheap. The room was clean but there was some mould in the bathroom, although it looks freshly renovated. The staff was really very kind and helpful. Breakfast was good.
All in all, it is OK for a couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. The staff made it special by providing great recommendations for food, shopping, sightseeing (including a private winery tour). We had a minor issue with our tickets at the train station down the block, and Claire offered to accompany us so nothing was lost in the translation as to what we wanted. So after her shift ended, we three went to the station and after a few minutes our ticket situation was resolved. That's above and beyond.
Aix-en-Provence provides lots of opportunities for exploring, including a wonderful museum, but it's also central to many sites within an hours drive of the hotel. We look forward to returning to this wonderful property and re-connecting with the personable and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

first the positives. great location close to center of town but on quieter street. interesting rooms albiet regular rooms are quite small. we upgraded to a junior suite which was lovely. good breakfast but at 20 euro not worthy of accolades on trip advisor. free drinks in minibar and lots of free fresh fruit as well.

big disappointment was the service. consistently line at front desk. we had to move a room due to poor plumbing--they did not help in any way and did not comp us one little bit.

overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

First of all, we are happy to read that you enjoyed our location as well as the free minibar and the fruits that are available for our guests in the lobby. We are sorry that you had to change room because of the plumbing issue. We did our best to solve this problem quickly and offered you to change for another Junior Suite on the same floor. We took good note of your remark regarding the lack of assistance and the fact that you had to wait at the front desk. Our team does its best to fulfill all our guests' requests, and during the peak season the reception gets quite busy. However we will try harder to be more reactive. Lastly, we want to thank you for posting your review about Hôtel Cézanne on TripAdvisor : your feedback is always valuable to us.

Best regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cezanne for two days in mid-August 2013. My daughter's first trip to Europe. The hotel is well-located; on a quieter part of a main street in the city of Aix, and very close to the main streets leading to the older part of the city. Very easy to walk to and from the hotel all around Aix.

The hotel is charming, with quirky decor. Clean, bright, and inviting. Nice big windows. The staff member who greeted us and gave us our room was a bit brusque, but we did not have that experience with any other staff member. Our room was large, with a nice sized bath as well. There is a very lovely ground-floor terrace for lounging outside; it is tucked behind the hotel and off the street so really feels like a get-away.

The Cezanne is remarkable in that they do not offer a paid mini-bar service. Rather, they stock your fridge with non-alcoholic beverages (still and sparkling water, sodas, juice) for your use *as part of your room rate.* You do not pay extra. They also have an honor system for their bar. They offer quite a large complement of drinks at the bar in the hotel lobby and on the terrace. You help yourself and let the receptionist know what you have consumed, so they can charge you for it. This is of course quite unique given that virtually every hotel I have ever stayed in not only charges insane amounts of money for the simplest things in the mini-bar, but also treats the mini-bar as though it were a cache of national security documents. It is a generous policy by the Cezanne that I again though was a lovely touch. They also have actual fresh fruit in the lobby for taking at any time, by which I mean really fresh apricots, nectarines, etc, not an array of heavily waxed age-old apples or some such.

Finally, there is on every floor an espresso maker for your use whenever and however many times you might want to make use of it, again as part of your room rate, no extra charge. And... free Wifi. Really, really nice touches.

We did not, however, eat breakfast there because it was not included in our room rate, and frankly at 20 Euros per person... I just can't spend $30.00 US per person for a simple breakfast of pastries and yogurt when you can walk around the corner and get coffee and pastries for a fraction of that price.

Overall, highly recommend the Cezanne if you want a boutique-ish and centrally located, modern and clean hotel in Aix.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Gérant at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and valuable comments about your stay at Hôtel Cézanne. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed you stay with us as well as our various facilities and services. We also took good note of your comment regarding the front desk and we will make sure to pass it to the team. Our priority is to take care of our guests and do our best so that they feel like at home. We hope to see you agin in the near future and would be happy to assist you in organizing your next stay in Provence.

Warm regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Whilst a 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of AIx (Cours Mirabeau), this hotel is well located away from the hustle and bustle. The service is excellent and very friendly in a family run way. The décor is both quirky and elegant with the obvious artistic leaning. Without being large, the bedroom was a good size and well equipped. Some lovely features such as an "honesty bar" at reception. With secure parking available, overnight €16, this hotel represented good value for July in a high end tourist spot such as Aix. We would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cezanne1, Gérant at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. We would like to sincerely thank you for this nice comment. Your satisfaction is exactly what we are searching for, and we are glad that you enjoyed our services : the "honesty" bar to feel like at home, the complimentary minibar in the rooms, our provate garage... We hope to see you again in Aix-en-Provence.

Warm regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good for walking into centre. Room was a bit small but comfortable. Car park available down one way side street. Bit stressful getting down against the flow but helpful porter drove in for me. Don't attempt to drive around town as parking a nightmare. Hotel service good but no restaurant only breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Address: 40, Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cezanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.