We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Aix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cezanne to your Saves list
Hotel Cezanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40, Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Troy, Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Aix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel is very nice. Rooms good size for France. Breakfast is good, although a little pricey at E 20. Some of the staff is very friendly and helpful, in particular, Estella and Stepan, at the desk. Little niceties like espresso on each floor 24 hours a day, and free beverages in the mini-bar are a plus. The lobby has a self service bar that we haven't used, but is very nice for those that can help themselves and just let the desk know, on their honor. Location is in Aix, within walking distance of almost all of the sights, but not far from the entrance to the highway, if you want to explore Provence. Parking is in a very secure garage a short half block from the lobby, with no charge, however, you must reserve a spot by email to the hotel well in advance of your arrival. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    259
    66
    24
    20
See reviews for
118
402
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

our room was a junior suite, and whilst the room was nice and bright and comfortable, it wasn't a suite. Breakfast was good and the lady who cooks it is quite a character. The location is good and is only a short walk to the "attractions" of Aix. The staff were helpful and friendly, although we had 2 restaurants recommended to us by the staff, both of them were average at best, and the restaurant that we enjoyed the most was the one that we heard them advising others to avoid, and whilst I am not going to suggest that there are vested interests somewhere here, it does make you wonder.
The bar works on an honour system, but very few people seemed to use it (apart from us).
To summarise, this hotel is good in parts but we didn't love it, it certainly lacks soul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a lovely hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thanks in no small part to the incredibly helpful and friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. We'd certainly come back.

The hotel is very stylish, and is conveniently situated with (free) secure parking, which is also a plus.

The minibar in the room (with various soft drinks and water) was complimentary and filled up each day, which was a nice touch. They have an 'honesty bar' where you can help yourself to alcoholic drinks and then get them added to your bill.

Hard to think of anything negative, except that our room - while pleasant and comfortable - was a little small and also had very PINK walls which might not be to everyone's taste! I would also say that the breakfast is over-priced at 20 Euro - but they do serve it until midday, which is great for late risers (and means you could almost treat it as 'brunch' thus making it easier to get your money's worth!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a difficult time finding a hotel in Aix that could accommodate me, my wife, and our nine year old daughter. After a lot of looking, we settled on this hotel. The room was right out of a 1970's version of Ikea. That would be fine, except that it was astonishingly expensive. The hallways and stairways are dingy and poorly kept up. The staff are nice, and certainly are quick to respond in well-practiced English. This hotel is average, at best. However, in our travels around Aix I did not see anything that looked much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent staff, easy parking, convenient location with a short walk to Cours Mirabeau et al, and a truly excellent breakfast made for a great stay. The room was great (OK, the toilet room is pretty tight but, just do your business and get out). The breakfast was pretty pricey, granted, but for what you get it is a very good value - there is everything from champagne to made-to-order pain perdu or omelettes, to smoked salmon, etc. etc. etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is located on the edge of the old town is within a short walk of all the restaurants, sites and shops that are on off in Aix.
We shared a twin room which was good in terms of space, condition and cleanliness and had comfortable beds. The mini bar in the room is free and is stocked with water and fizzy drinks. There is also free coffee from the Nespresso machine in the common hall area on each floor.

The staff were very helpful and gave great advice for restaurants, activities etc. They were so much more helpful (and polite) than the tourist information office - who were very ordinary.

Stay at this lovely hotel and you'll have a great time in Aix.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We really liked this boutique hotel. We stopped here for two days as a halfway point between Nice and Paris. We booked a double room last minute and it was fantastic. Good shower, clean, comfy bed, on the second floor but street noise wasn't a problem. Free coffee machines on each floor and an honor bar in the lobby which was very convenient. (Pricier than the local restaurants but still good stuff). Breakfast was pricey at the hotel but had good quality varitety. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We ate at Chez Grand Mere the first night which was lovely traditional Provençal food. Get the escargots. They are fantastic. I had the steak and my husband had the duck. Both cooked rare so if you don't like your meat that rare be sure to ask for it more well done. We enjoyed it though. We stopped for a quick bite at la fromagerie. Hard to find down a little alley but if you are a cheese fanatic like me you HAVE to go here. So many varieties and a roof top terrace where you can sip wine and enjoy your cheese delights. Dinner the last night was at lavault. Excellent! The foie gras club appetizer was amazing. I could have had two of those and been a happy camper. Saffron seafood risotto was also delish but the table next to us had the steak and foie gras and I had order envy.

We took the TGV to Aix en Provence then hopped the shuttle to Gare Routiere in the center of Nice for about 4 euros each. We walked to the hotel from there. Easy enough to do and we had two large roller bags. Book any tours in advance. We wanted to do a wine tour but there was slim pickings on the Thursday we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Address: 40, Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Splendia so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cezanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.