We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GENUINE TASTE OF PROVENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Carlotta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison de Carlotta
Save
You added La Maison de Carlotta to your Saves list
9, rue Frederic Mistral, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 62 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A GENUINE TASTE OF PROVENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We feel so lucky to have discovered La Maison de Carlotta, where we spent four nights in May. The delightful rooms and charming owner were a great introduction to Provence.

The spacious two-storey apartment is at the top of one of the elegant old houses in the 17th/18th-century Mazarin quarter. It’s on a narrow side street just a few minutes’ walk from the Cours Mirabeau in the centre of Aix. This is the house where Cézanne’s wife, Hortense, is said to have lived in the 1890s after she fell out with the in-laws. The owner of La Maison de Carlotta, Aline D’Aquilante, has refurbished the apartment very stylishly – Farrow & Ball paint, linen curtains, terracotta floors, antique furniture – and it was featured in a French interior design magazine. Yet it is also homely, relaxed and inviting.

The three bedrooms are arranged around a pretty terrace, where guests can have breakfast or drinks. Two of the bedrooms have well-equipped en suite bathrooms, and the third has private use of a large bathroom just next door. The beds are very comfortable.

On the floor below are the living room, dining room and kitchen, where breakfast is served at the communal dining table. We enjoyed chatting to other guests and to Aline, who is very friendly and warm, and whose English is excellent. Our breakfasts were superb (she used to run a restaurant specializing in Provençal food), with a different cooked treat every day, plus freshly prepared fruit salad or strawberries with fromage blanc, freshly squeezed juice, goat’s cheese, muesli, yogurt, pastries, breads, homemade jam (try the fig).

Aline was very helpful in advising us on restaurants, excursions, the Aix festival, etc. She is incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the arts, and the apartment is filled with art, books and, downstairs, the sound of classical music and opera.

Aix is a beautiful and buzzy town, with a maze of medieval streets to explore. But what we enjoyed most was staying in Aline’s home. It was obvious that she takes a genuine interest in her guests, and she does everything she can to make their stay a happy one.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Excellent location for touring Aix en provence and surrounding areas. Aline is a sincere and helpful hostess suggesting daily itineraries throughout the Provence area which fulfilled our desire to seek out historic and picturesque areas to visit. Breakfasts were terrific with fresh juice, coffee, pastries, cheese, and fruit salads. We enjoyed warm conversation and Aline's special touches which made us feel welcome and comfortable. The accomodation is the epitome of french country with an elegant twist. Try lunch at Cafe du Paradou (located in Paradou - one hour outside Aix en province - Aline will make a reservation for you) - the meal was excellent(!) and you may just see one or two famous people in your midst.....

Room Tip: Choose la chambre de Maitre - largest room/view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I should have written this a while ago,but here we go. Myself, my partner and his family stayed at La Maison de Carlotta and I must say that those 3 days were quite special in our trip around France. Aline is a warm and honest hostess who has carefully decorated her home. Everything was like I was expecting, the very french breakfast on the balcony, the view from my window, the house itself. Aline is a natural, and it was just like we knew one another for a long time. The maison location is also excellent,I would say only two blocks away from the buzz of Aix. I think if you're in the spirit of experiencing the real Provence,with no fuss,no "hotel" look-likes this is the place. I can't wait to get back there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We had a chance to come back to the Maison Carlotta this week, and I was so very pleased to see that all the charm and peace that I'd remembered were still in place. Aline, the adorable owner, has very recently (maybe just in the last few weeks?) added a toilet to the master bathroom, so that two rooms have full ensuite bathrooms now, the third bedroom has its own private facilities just outside their bedroom door. I got up the courage to ask Aline about the negative review from August 2010, below, and she thinks the person is mixing up her establishment with another, the commentary is clearly not referring to the Maison Carlotta. Must say, it was certainly puzzling to me how anyone who really was here could come away with those opinions. In any case, this is a wonderful place to stay, I will do my best to get back to Aix again just to visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Charming 17th century house with an elegant hostess. Aline has succeeded in creating an ambience of the period, providing a comfortable home which was a pleasure to experience. The breakfast was lovely and the beds very comfortable. We do not agree with the negative comments or sentiments of the last reviewer although the terrace, which is shared by all guests, is small and two rooms share one toilet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Don't get me wrong, it's nice. Almost central (dark street) and the host knows what she has got. An expensive apartment. That' all. So it's relly tiny and no grandeur at all. I know some of the most beautiful houses in Aix from the inside - no, this has nothing to do with it.
It is not even a house as the name suggested to us but only a 2nd and 3th floor. So we don't speak of a hole maison de maître as we expected, no garden and of course, no pool. At this room rate, a roof top pool or a garden pool is a must for internatinal travellers and with that heat!

For the price, you an get much better elsewhere or even pay more and get so much more.
All these faked reviews written by people who left only one comment about just one place - that's hidious and speaks for the host and the honesty. (Pay 50% in advance etc.) Don't get fooled...it' jut marketing and kitsch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We truly enjoyed our stay here in the spring of 2010. Aline was a warm and gracious host to us and to our two children, ages 12 and 14. She welcomed us with a bountiful tray of hand-prepared Provencale appetizers, and toasted to our stay with glasses of the delicious wine from the area (juice for the kids!). Our rooms were lovely - with loads of floor and closet space (far more than we ever expect in Europe), and spotlessly clean. Windows are double glazed, have internal shutters, and faced the courtyard of a neighboring building, so we were assured quiet and darkness for a restful sleep. Breakfast in the morning was prepared by Aline, and we adored her almond french toast - so much so that we asked for the recipe! Yum. She is truly a gracious hostess, and even took the trouble to mail our daughter's ballet flats to us in Switzerland when she found that they had been inadvertently left behind! A note about location - this B&B is superbly located, on a quiet side street within a minute's walk from the prime strolling, shopping and dining areas of Aix. We hope to return to Aix, and would adore another stay at the Maison Carlotta. Merci beaucoup, Aline!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison de Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Carlotta

Address: 9, rue Frederic Mistral, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.