We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third Trip Advisor review of this restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Poivre D'Ane

Le Poivre D'Ane
40 Place des Cardeurs, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
+33 4 42 21 32 66
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My third Trip Advisor review of this restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

There are many restaurants in Aix's Place des Cardeurs, and most of them are mediocre at best. Don't let its location discourage you--this place is great. We've been fortunate enough to visit Aix 11 times over the past 14 years, and Poivre D'Ane remains our "must go to" restaurant in a town with many restaurants. The service is as good as the food. As for the decor, it helps if you like the color orange; even the chef/owner's glasses are orange.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    80
    19
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

On a packed / touristy square you could be forgiven for thinking this was another run of the mill 'burger' place...but it isn't! It's fantastic, great staff, very interesting menu with some superb dishes such as the foie gras terrine with langoustines, herb crusted lamb and strawberry cheesecake - awesome fine dining at reasonable price for this kind of food.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“disapponted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel, The staff was very friendly and welcoming, but I must say I was a bot disappointed in the menu and the food. We had to make the reservation 3 days in advance, so maybe they had an off night?

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A cut above in a crowded market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Place des Cardeurs in Aix sees a dozen restaurants jostle cheek by jowl for the tourist trade. Standards (and prices) are generally high: Le Poivre d'Ane is at the top end for both. Genuinely imaginative cuisine, beautifully presented and served by very friendly and knowledgeable staff) showcases the best Provencal ingredients.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superbe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location which adds to the relaxing atmosphere - this was a highlight of our short break. The food was expertly and thoughtfully prepared and the waiting service incredibly helpful, friendly and professional. Our French is not great but the menu was translated for us making it easy to make our choices. A real treat.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Poivre D'Ane also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Poivre D'Ane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Poivre D'Ane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.