We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestyle food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Verdot

Le Petit Verdot
7 Rue d'Entrecasteaux, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
04 42 27 30 12
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Petit Verdot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 580 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Homestyle food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a place - I've been here twice now over the space of a couple of years and it remains the same and one of my favourite places. Black Pork, Steak with Foie Gras, the lamb shank - all incredible meals that remain in your mind. The service is run by the owners and they are friendly and helpful. The desserts are always amazing also. This is not a quick meal - it takes us 2-3 hours to get through the meal and you probably should book in advance. This place is worth it and one of the better establishments in Aix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    27
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I found this place completely by accident but it was the best meal I've had in awhile-- far and away the best I had in Aix. Local products, great wine, a real haven for foodies stranded in the western part of the Centre Ville. There was mushroom ice cream in my soup. I stuffed myself with pig cheek and had no room for dessert, which was a tragedy as the moelleux au chocolat looked divine...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We loved this restaurant and it was our best experience in Aix! Make a reservation early since we waited till the last minute and didn't have the best table. Completely full and amazing atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“pure atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place convinced us not only it made us enthusiastic. Incrediends: very good food, nice wine recommendation, a authentical boss which takes care about the service in a gorgeous way and a sensational chocolate cake and last but not least a lively atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Allow Jean Yves Cuppari to enthusiastically host you whether you speak French or not. In a lively college town with plenty of places to eat, La Petit Verdot was a delightful place on a side street which will give you a more traditional bistro experience than the more touristy Cours Mirabeau.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Verdot also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Petit Verdot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Verdot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.