We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good Japanese food (for French standards)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamato

Yamato
21, avenue des Belges, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
0442380020
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Yamato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #338 of 576 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $44 - $156
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite good Japanese food (for French standards)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Yamoto for lunch in July during our south of france tour.
The restaurant is a little hidden at the end of av. de Bleges.
Once entering the small iron gate, the small zen-style garden is the first nice welcome.
Inside and outside seting possible, both with decent Japanese touch.

We choose the Jamato menue with additional sushi & sashimi.
The menue has real japanese touch and pretty good quality (I think I am able to qualify, as I have lived for years in north-east Asia). The menue and the restaurant are a little pricy, but worth the quality.

Recommended, Y&S

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    14
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely evening at Yamato.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed 2 great meals at Yamato. Having eaten French food for 6 weeks it was a breath of fresh air! The decor is traditional Japanese, simple and comfortable. The food was fresh and tasty, not overly fancy, but good quality and delicious. The sushi and sashimi were excellent. Mme Yuriko welcomed us on both occasions and was very attentive without being over the top. We really enjoyed both our meals at Yamato and highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Misleading restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The menu 42.50 euros is false. They charge plus 5 euros for the first dish, sushi although in their site is written that this extra would be charged only for sashimi other sashimi and sushi. Also the last dish, Maigret de canard other sukiyaki there wasn`t when I went there and the waitress/owner said in a very rude manner that I shoul choose other dish in the menu. Restaurant expensive for what it offers and rude and authoritarian waitress.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite japanese food, but could be more friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

This restaurant is located in Aix-en-Provence near central bus station. It can be tricky to find a place to park car here during the day so it is better to go directly to Rotonde car park. Food is absolutely fabulous and the closest to real Japanese food I have ever seen outside of Japan. It servers specialties from all other Japan. Staff is ok though not too friendly, however the last time I had dinner with friends there staff made everything to speed-up our dinner and at the end made us clearly understand it was time to leave, probably because they had booked the table ! This is really not acceptable considering the price of this restaurant !

  • Visited September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, good service but sooooo cold!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We recently went to Yamato with my wife. I had called ahead of time to order the special tasting menu. Upon arrival, the lady did not remember and then told us that the cold weather had prevented some deliveries which made it impossible to prepare the tasting menu. I must say that I was only half convinced and think she simply forgot...
Regardless, the "normal menu" was quite good and the high end cold sake we took was great!
The main negative aspect was that they only had one small heater for the room and it was indeed very cold that day (barely +1 celcius in Aix) so we were rather uncomfortable the whole time.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Yamato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.