We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Route des Cretes La Ciotat Cassis

Route des Cretes La Ciotat Cassis
France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,104 attractions in Provence
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beatiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Cassis is lovey , very like St Tropaz it was very busy on Saturday and difficult to find a parking space but well worth the trouble , only went for the day and will definately go back and stay next time

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norman, ok
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing drive - Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went significantly out of our way to take this drive and it was well worth it. We stopped at several of the view stops and the views were absolutely breathtaking. We took a picnic lunch with us and stopped at one of the roadside stops and had our own little picnic area with the amazing view. Don't rush through it, stop and enjoy the views. I estimate that I took a couple hundred photos on this short drive, many of which I have enlarged because the scenery was just that amazing. One of the prettiest drives I can remember ever taking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Breath-Taking Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our tour guide took us up to see these magnificent cliffs and take in the absolutely breath-taking views below. We got out at a viewing area where she parked the car and we walked a little way up hill to take it all in and use our cameras. I would have to blow up my photos to wall sized to really view this properly. Just so huge and picturesque a view of the shoreline and water. Even the rocks and cliffs upon which you stand are strong visually.

Usually you are visiting towns and villages and see things from ground level. It is wonderful to change perspective and go up high to see places from a birds-eye view and put things into place geographically. We loved seeing the entire area from up high, and not just from the roadsides. The natural, untouched, raw beauty of this land is powerfully beautiful. After a day of visiting first Aix, and then Cassis, this was the dessert topping to a special day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful, must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We didn´t know about this breathtaking route in Provence until a friend recommended it to us, and we certainly top not regret that we took the road over the hills between La Ciotat and Cassis. The route number is D-141 and it might be a bit difficult to find in La Ciotat. You have to drive true the hole town to get there. And the route may be closed due to bad weather-conditions. The route provides several fantastic views. Hit that road.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

One staying in Cassis should definitely not to skip seeing it. Absolutely amazing ! We did it two times, once during the day,once at night. At night it might be a bit complicated for not good driver as it was said, the roads are kind of dangerous but if you are driving carefully it should be fine. During the day I reccomend to go in the afternoon as in the morning it might be a bit foggy and the view especially if you want to take the pictures not the best one. But anyway, take your camera and enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route des Cretes La Ciotat Cassis also viewed

La Ciotat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Moustiers Sainte-Marie, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Route des Cretes La Ciotat Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route des Cretes La Ciotat Cassis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Route des Cretes La Ciotat Cassis to your Saves list