We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorges du Verdon

Gorges du Verdon
France
0494 70 21 64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,098 attractions in Provence
Type: Canyons, Geologic Formations, Bodies of Water
Activities: White-water rafting, Bungee jumping, Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Europe's only grand canyon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Well worth a detour to see the spectacular views. The drive is fun- be prepared for lots of twists and turns.

We recommend spending a full day to explore the area as the drive will take you a lot longer than your GPS will predict.

Several little towns offer accommodations/restaurants. Seemed like lots of places to camp as well. We stopped in Moustiers-Sainte-Marie which was charming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    41
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warning! Thieves operate in this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I agree that the Outstanding panoramic views across the gorge are breathtaking.
But be very aware. Professional gangs operate here.
If your car has English no. Plates/GB sticker you will be particularly targetted as rich pickings.
Do not think that locking your car is sufficient. Our new locked Renault car was opened "electronically" and ransacked within minutes. You may well take your valuables with you but that will not stop them looking.
The nearest Police station is approximately 1 hours drive away. They were not at all surprised - or interested at our misfortune.
My advice is to never leave your car unattended whilst visiting the gorge.
It is such a shame that we have to take such measures whilst visiting this area of outstanding natural beauty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Simply WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We've visited with friends and were very impressed with this visit. I was not expecting something like this in France... sorry guys! But I actually was amazed!!! The day was beautiful and the view, simply breath-taking. Driving in the area is quite a challenge as there are a lot of curves but my goodness, is it ever worth the visit? Definitely! If you visit, plan to leave early in the morning and stop at Lac Ste-Croix, where you can actually spend the afternoon swimming. It is just gorgeous! We visited twice and would go back anytime. If you have a GPS, be sure to take the right road as we ended up in the rural part and had to drive the longest paths to get there. Definitely a place to visit with the family. Few places to stop but don't expect restaurants all around. Not that kind of attraction. Don't forget your camera as the bright turquoise water and beautiful view is something to bring back on a film!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Seems like the top of France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Looking down in the gorge you really feel like you are on the top of France. The vertigo-inducing views from the clifftops are spectacular. The river water is such a neat color. Have not seen anything like it in my travels.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a lovely place.
Fantastic views.
Make sure you take a camera.
Some great wildlife.
Bright turquoise water.
Looks like there are some great camping and walking spots too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorges du Verdon also viewed

Sainte-Croix-du-Verdon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Moustiers Sainte-Marie, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 

Been to Gorges du Verdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorges du Verdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gorges du Verdon to your Saves list