We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt do enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 rue Carnot, 86000 Poitiers, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Couldnt do enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Inauspicious start car park full, one nearby, helped with bags left outside hotel. Parked in hotel car park second day.

We got stuck in lift for 10 mins hot no fan no lights it was 29c. They arranged food from next door as room service finished and my wife didn’t want to go out still being a bit traumatised

The manager arranged 50% off the first night not asked for

Great air con was most appreciated in a warm stormy night

Breakfast was average continental

All people encountered helpful and genuinely friendly.

Good free internet connection

Excellent central location bars and restaurants nearby.

Would return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    127
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
43
136
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent location in the city centre of Poitiers, yet very convenient for a stop-over when travelling thru France.
Very friendly staff. Parking by the hotel or next door (we parked in the public parking right next door whci was high enough for a 4x4 with box). Very clean rooms.
Comfortable beds. Small fridge in the room. Airco. Seperate toilet.
The rooms are a little bit dated and could use some TLC. The standard room had a tiny tv screen. Bathrooms are very clean but not so modern.

Room Tip: The larger rooms have a huge TV, larger bathroom and very nice large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had two rooms, one of which had a cot for our little grandson. Both rooms were air-conditioned and had separate toilets. We appreciated the free bottle of water and the tea and coffee making facility. The mini bar was good as it enabled us to store a bottle of white wine to cool down as well! Breakfast was extra - 12 Euros. A little pricey perhaps. Also we had to pay an additional 5 Euros for the cot which usually comes free with the room in other hotels. However, as this hotel is well located (parking under the hotel as well as in the very nearby Hotel de Ville car park) and otherwise not expensive, we did not mind too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in August. There were three of us and we had two rooms. Our room was spacious, clean and the air con was very welcome. My only criticism of the room was the separate wc smelt pretty bad. My friend had a very different experience. Her air con was dripping water and a large puddle had formed. She asked to move rooms and was immediately given an alternative. Unfortunately that room smelt really bad and so a third, and the only other room available was given which was ok... Until the morning when there was a power cut. So with no coffee and wet hair she had to use our bathroom. We explained to reception that this was not good and the lady told us her room wasn't the only one affected. No apology, just lots of shrugging. We asked to speak to the manager and there wasn't one available. We asked to speak to head office and got an answer phone. No one was available who had any power to do anything. We left our details with her asking to be contacted but we didn't really expect it to be dealt with after we had left. To our surprise the manager emailed and refunded the room with an apology. So all in all it was a bit of a mixed visit.

The location is good.

Room Tip: If its not right, tell them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A fine, rather traditionally decorated hotel, with friendly, English speaking staff. They sent an email ahead, upon our reservation, with instructions how to find the hotel in the city centre. Parking garage next door. Downtown Poitiers is a cosy place for a day or two.

Room Tip: For a little premium, 4 euro per night, we got a significantly larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

a disappointment. The suite showed signs of lack of care and attention. Fridge, second TV and safe were not working. Staff friendly enough and keen to "make good" but clearly there is something wrong with house keeping.

Portion control gone mad - 2 tea bags for 2 people (one with caffeine, one without) was the daily offer. Staff happy to top up but....

The one compensation was a good breakfast with a delightful breakfast room supervisor. Her smile and attention made up for a lot

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Yes, the hotel is well located near the center of Poitier, in the pedestrian streets.
But it may be the worst hotel in the area and here is why:

When we arrived we asked where to park, daring to disturb the clerk totally focused on his Facebook page. We received a very cold "there is no parking space left"...
Here we were, in front of the exact reason why tourists find French people so rude and French service so bad. "Thanks sir, we replied, is there any other place we can park?" We received a condescending answer about the parking next door.
This may have been an single incident - I mean a single bad employee facing a bad day on Facebook, but unfortunately the room smelled bad - like if the previous guest had been sick. When we inquired about it, we were answered ''it is impossible in this room; the exhaust pipes create odors in the other rooms but not in this one'' - same condescending tone refusing to even consider a potential issue,,, or to propose a solution.
The whole stay was alike - all the employees obviously followed the same "customer service" training.
Conclusion: there are other hotels in the same area - choose this one if you have no other choice...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close the exhaust pipes! As per the staff, they smell even worst than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel

Address: 28 rue Carnot, 86000 Poitiers, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the historical heart of the city center, the grand hotel is excellently located.Our hotel offers 41 quiet, spacious and well-lit rooms, 6 suites with personalised decor, 2 conference-rooms, a breakfast buffet inspired by the local cuisine, an Internet service at the reception and free wireless connection in all the hotel and a closed garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.