We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, excellent location and perfect for a stop-over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 rue Carnot, 86000 Poitiers, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 hotels in Poitiers
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel, excellent location and perfect for a stop-over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent location in the city centre of Poitiers, yet very convenient for a stop-over when travelling thru France.
Very friendly staff. Parking by the hotel or next door (we parked in the public parking right next door whci was high enough for a 4x4 with box). Very clean rooms.
Comfortable beds. Small fridge in the room. Airco. Seperate toilet.
The rooms are a little bit dated and could use some TLC. The standard room had a tiny tv screen. Bathrooms are very clean but not so modern.

Room Tip: The larger rooms have a huge TV, larger bathroom and very nice large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    87
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
98
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had two rooms, one of which had a cot for our little grandson. Both rooms were air-conditioned and had separate toilets. We appreciated the free bottle of water and the tea and coffee making facility. The mini bar was good as it enabled us to store a bottle of white wine to cool down as well! Breakfast was extra - 12 Euros. A little pricey perhaps. Also we had to pay an additional 5 Euros for the cot which usually comes free with the room in other hotels. However, as this hotel is well located (parking under the hotel as well as in the very nearby Hotel de Ville car park) and otherwise not expensive, we did not mind too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in August. There were three of us and we had two rooms. Our room was spacious, clean and the air con was very welcome. My only criticism of the room was the separate wc smelt pretty bad. My friend had a very different experience. Her air con was dripping water and a large puddle had formed. She asked to move rooms and was immediately given an alternative. Unfortunately that room smelt really bad and so a third, and the only other room available was given which was ok... Until the morning when there was a power cut. So with no coffee and wet hair she had to use our bathroom. We explained to reception that this was not good and the lady told us her room wasn't the only one affected. No apology, just lots of shrugging. We asked to speak to the manager and there wasn't one available. We asked to speak to head office and got an answer phone. No one was available who had any power to do anything. We left our details with her asking to be contacted but we didn't really expect it to be dealt with after we had left. To our surprise the manager emailed and refunded the room with an apology. So all in all it was a bit of a mixed visit.

The location is good.

Room Tip: If its not right, tell them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A fine, rather traditionally decorated hotel, with friendly, English speaking staff. They sent an email ahead, upon our reservation, with instructions how to find the hotel in the city centre. Parking garage next door. Downtown Poitiers is a cosy place for a day or two.

Room Tip: For a little premium, 4 euro per night, we got a significantly larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

a disappointment. The suite showed signs of lack of care and attention. Fridge, second TV and safe were not working. Staff friendly enough and keen to "make good" but clearly there is something wrong with house keeping.

Portion control gone mad - 2 tea bags for 2 people (one with caffeine, one without) was the daily offer. Staff happy to top up but....

The one compensation was a good breakfast with a delightful breakfast room supervisor. Her smile and attention made up for a lot

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Yes, the hotel is well located near the center of Poitier, in the pedestrian streets.
But it may be the worst hotel in the area and here is why:

When we arrived we asked where to park, daring to disturb the clerk totally focused on his Facebook page. We received a very cold "there is no parking space left"...
Here we were, in front of the exact reason why tourists find French people so rude and French service so bad. "Thanks sir, we replied, is there any other place we can park?" We received a condescending answer about the parking next door.
This may have been an single incident - I mean a single bad employee facing a bad day on Facebook, but unfortunately the room smelled bad - like if the previous guest had been sick. When we inquired about it, we were answered ''it is impossible in this room; the exhaust pipes create odors in the other rooms but not in this one'' - same condescending tone refusing to even consider a potential issue,,, or to propose a solution.
The whole stay was alike - all the employees obviously followed the same "customer service" training.
Conclusion: there are other hotels in the same area - choose this one if you have no other choice...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close the exhaust pipes! As per the staff, they smell even worst than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A minutes walk from the historic centre and shopping in a pedestrian area therefore no traffic noise. Very comfortable rooms good value for money. The breakfast was not too exciting however the lady on duty will make eggs to order, the scrambled eggs are particularly good.

Room Tip: Phone ahead to ensure you can get a place in the underground car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel

Address: 28 rue Carnot, 86000 Poitiers, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the historical heart of the city center, the grand hotel is excellently located.Our hotel offers 41 quiet, spacious and well-lit rooms, 6 suites with personalised decor, 2 conference-rooms, a breakfast buffet inspired by the local cuisine, an Internet service at the reception and free wireless connection in all the hotel and a closed garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.