We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Place Du Marechal Leclerc, 86000 Poitiers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
West Country, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Should be 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Perfectly positioned in the beautiful old town square, this fabulous little hotel is just perfect for a visit and stay in Poitiers. Chosen totally on Trip Advisor reviews, we were a little dubious with the two star rating- however, this seriously needs reviewing as this little hotel is worthy of far more stars. The welcome on reception is probably the best we had during all our tour of France, our room was so clean, with a double bed and a proper single bed (not sofa!) The building is obviously old with a lovely winding staircase and a nice seating area on the second floor which overlooks the square. There is a lift/elevator however, it is rather small and a tad antiquated, but it does works! The bathroom has a great shower, but the room itself is small- but everything one needs in a bathroom is there. We had free wifi, and breakfast was available if requested. The view from our window was the whole of the square and the gorgeous town hall building (see photo)-minor gripe, was a little noise came from the square at night, but as the night wore on it went alot quieter.
Parking is just around the corner at the Hotel De Ville car park which for two days night and day stay cost just 8 Euros!
Poitiers itself is lovely, very small for a city, but has some amazing bars and restaurants, and some lovely churches and old buildings.
Return to Hotel Central?....absolutely and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Apparently balcony rooms are available- overlooking the square would be amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel is fantastically situated in the middle of a revamped town square; surrounded by bars and restaurants adding to the atmosphere of being able to dine in the sunshine. Upgraded room 31 on the third floor comes with balcony overlooking the square which is just a delightful spot to people watch, catch the last of the days sun and then to enjoy a relaxing breakfast watching the square come alive again. The staff were extrememely helpful and didn't mind my attempts at speaking French - charming hotel and a great choice in the center of Poitiers - to be recommended and superb value for money.

Room Tip: modern spacious room with superb en-suite and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexkymusic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was a bit sceptical about booking a 2 star hotel, but after reading reviews on trip advisor, I decided to give it a go. The room was a triple room that overlooked the town square, what a delight this was. We opened up the floor to ceiling windows and watched the hustle and bustle of the day. The room itself was spotless, looking fresh and new. No coffee making facilities, but there was a flat screen tv and hairdrier. The only criticism I can possibly make was of the tiny bathroom. Both receptionists we dealt with were polite and most helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. ( there's even free wifi )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

They are very aptly named, the hotel is at the very center of town, next to all the restaurants and 5 minutes walking from the main attractions. the room we stayed at was small, but spotless clean, bed, bath, some storage space and with a great view. haven't tried the breakfast (farmers market!!!), but the owners are very nice and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We had a smart, modern room with a very comfortable bed and a very clean and effecient bathroom.
The room had a little balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the main square so we were able to enjoy the passing parade from above.
We didn't have breakfast so I cannot comment on that but, if it was up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, it would have been satisfactory.
Very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galicia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

A basic hotel in the town hall square, we paid 48 euros for a spacious double ensuite room overlooking the square. My only complaint would be the mould in the shower. Free wifi. TV. Metered Parking outside. Breakfast served in your room was 6 euros I think.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 35 Place Du Marechal Leclerc, 86000 Poitiers, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.