We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, really nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Marine to your Saves list
Hotel La Marine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Quai Duperre, 17000 La Rochelle, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in La Rochelle
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, really nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here in 8th Sept. 2010 for 1 night and it was perfect for that. The hotel is really well located, the staff are super friendly and it's right in the center of the action. The room was a little tight on space but no worse than other places we stayed. It might get annoying if you were staying for a couple of nights but in all a lovely spot. Only sticky bit is the parking, the car park they use is a 5 min walk away. If you're trying to park outside the hotel, you'll need to do double park but no-one seems to mind.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed in Hotel La Marine for one night. It is perfectly located in the heart of the port of La Rochelle. The room was at the back of the hotel, so we had no view of the port, but the decoration was very nice and it was very clean. The woman at the reception was a bit weird but efficient.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Lovely small hotel; clean, friendly, and well-run. Super location in a very pretty town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. If you like being in the centre of things with one of the loveliest views in the world right outside your window, then this is the hotel for you. On the other hand, if you like to sleep with the windows open then ask for a room at the back. It will be quieter. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Only stayed the 1 night as we were travelling through. It was a bit strange unloading the car in the middle of a busy street on a busy Saturday evening and the stairs up were a bit of a hassle but the room was well worth it. A fantastic view over the old port, but with 2 sets of double glazed windows that really kept the noise out. The room was clean, car parking was secure though at a remote site, and the reception friendly and very helpful.

Get off the main street if you want a decent meal at a decent price. The selection along the Rue Saint-Jean du Pérot, just a short walk from the hotel was good, and a tour of the 3 towers the next morning provided all the exercise needed to negate the big meal ;-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This hotel had a nice room in subtle blue shades. The location is right in the heart of the action. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was reasonable and served in the room- typical French- just juices and breads. The stairs were a bit steep. Again French television was very limited. We availed of the parking the Hotel suggested and the fee was not very expensive for our two night stay. It is about a km from the Hotel. The town itself is very interesting. The Aquarium is a must visit-great experience. The tur St Niclaus was also a wonderful visit. It is a stylish town with pedestrian areas and streetside eateries although those we visited were a bit disappointing- you pay for the setting in either price or quality. It would be better to go away from the touristy areas to where the locals eat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Wonderful location overlooking the old port. A busy street, but excellent double glazing means that the noise needn't be a problem. Huge comfortable room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

my friend and i had visited the tourist ofiice in La Rochelle and were told that this hotel had a twin room for the night at a rate of 95 euros.the lady in the tourist office had called the hotel and everything was perfect and we got a receipt from the tourist office to show the price quoated.when we arrived at the hotel the women behind the desk said she wanted 125 euros and was extremly aggressive when i challenged her on the price.she fired my money back at me and even treatened to call the police if we did not leave.she then started to ask us what our nationality was and started to grumble something under her breath about us being stupid "english" even though we are irish.this place looks nice but do not get on the wrong side of the women who owns it.Her husband heard her shouting and came out to see what was going on and was a very polite man and when i explained what had happened he was very quick to split the difference with us.it kind of spoiled La Rochelle for us.

  • Liked — nice harbour location
  • Disliked — poor reception we recieved
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Marine

Address: 30 Quai Duperre, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Marine 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quai duperré, hotel la marine discreet entrance welcomes you in the heart of the old harbour of la rochelle. History quietly meets a warm modern design with thirteen rooms, four with a spectacular view of the medieval towers. The nine other rooms offer you the peaceful retreat of green surroundings. All rooms are functional with spacious comfort set to give you a soothing feeling.- 13 rooms, 4 rooms port side,- wifi in all rooms,- non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, AvailPro and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.