We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't see what all the fuss is about.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Amaranthe

L'Amaranthe
Bletterie 14, 17000 La Rochelle, France
+33 5 17 83 07 21
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 356 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: French, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“I don't see what all the fuss is about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we visited L'Amaranthe it was rated on Tripadvisor as number one in La Rochelle. I fail to see why.

The location is uninspiring, the one hour wait for our first course was, in my opinion, too long, and I considered that both my starter and main course were slightly overcooked. However the price was very reasonable.

Either this place has been very overrated or I just fail to appreciate the finer points of French cuisine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    81
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious 3 course meal-affordable & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

L'Amaranthe was fantastic. Affordable 2 course meal with a delicious bottle of house red wine. The server was a lovely lady. She brought out an extra course for us in the beginning which was mussels in creamy egg cream sauce. The entrees were delicous, a poached salmon salad & the other was tripe stuffed in a roasted tomato accompanied by potatoes and greens. The main plates were also very tasty. Seared duck with vegetable puree & fish with sauteed fennel and vegetables. All the ingredients were very fresh and healthy tasting. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Didn't get to eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Arrived at 8.25 pm as I had made a reservation for 8.30pm the tiny place was packed , we were told as it was raining they were extra busy and they had no room for us ! Only outside which was unfortunately not possible due to the weather. Not impressed. So we never did taste the food here, so cannot comment on that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value ate here twice in a row already and only here few days so that says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Went off recommendation better than expected well run by only two staff everything down to the little biscuit that came with the best coffee so far this holiday was fabulous as mentioned prev limited menu but choice of very tasty interesting meat or fish option for both courses what more could you want

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great food, great service, what more needs saying. We reserved and dined with our two difficult and noisy children. The staff were great and the food was really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amaranthe also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to L'Amaranthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Amaranthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.