We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Brises

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Brises to your Saves list
Hotel Les Brises
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin de la Digue Richelieu, 17000 La Rochelle, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in La Rochelle
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Located next to the sea. Modern hotel having nice rooms with balconies giving great views over the sea. From the balcony you can watch the numerous boats entering the port of La Rochelle. The hotel is situated on the edge of the town which means that it’s a 1mile walk into the medieval town however this is a pleasant walk along the sea front, through park gardens. There is good parking and the hotel serves an excellent breakfast. We found the staff to be very helpful and spoke good English.

Room Tip: Pay extra from the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    91
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
115
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Nice place, very good breakfast, bar etc. Make sure you pay for the sea view, which is uninterrupted. Decent rooms and bathroom. Walk to the town takes 20 mins, 15 if you push it, but much better is to take one of their free bikes and cycle through the park and seafront into town. Covered parking for free and free internet.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

we have stayed here a couple of times now. The location is lovely, with rooms looking onto the port. But these do come at a price - 120 euros is towards the top end for a mid range hotel, but parking is free unlike at others in the town. As someone else has mentioned the blides mean you get a pefect nights sleep, and for the mono-lingual among us, there is channel 5. It is a good 20 min walk into town, but it is a rather lovely walk along the sea front.

I am sure we will stay here again

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were there for a 2 night stay; nice location by seaside,with a great view of La Rochelle Harbor; we took a 10 minute walk along boardwalk all the way to harbor entrance. Clean, friendly staff, plenty of parking, and decorated with a nautical theme. It also came with electric blinds to have a really dark night for sleeping!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for seaside rooms, but you'll miss the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

very nice hotel with sea view very helpful staff,good parking,twenty mins walk to center of town,room was clean as was the rest of the hotel,we will return

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We booked Les Brises at the very last minute and in a bit of a rush so really had our fingers crossed that it would be good enough for just one night. Fortunately, we were very pleasantly surprised.
The reception was very good with friendly welcoming staff. We were given room 29 on the second floor. It was plenty big enough for us and spotlessly clean. It had a balcony overlooking the car-park but that wasn't a problem as it was lovely and quiet with the sun on it in the afternoon. Sea-view rooms are also available for more money and no surprise there as the view of La Rochelle is fabulous . We had a nice size shower-room, which was also very clean and contained a hairdryer and shaving sockets plus a large mirror and a radio! There was also shampoo, shower gel, shower cap and comb for our use. The shower itself was fine though I found it a bit odd the first time I used it but that's probably just me because my very fussy husband thought it was fine.
The hotel reception stays open 24 hours and it was nice to have a warm welcome at 2.00 a.m.!
We both had a really good night's sleep, which is unusual for me in a hotel. The bed was comfortable with lovely pillows and the room was very quiet.
Breakfast the next morning was an extra 14 euros each but we could have as much as we wanted. It consisted of tea or coffee, fruit juice, cereals, cold meats & cheese, boiled eggs (hot or cold), pastries and croissants, toast & jam, yoghurts, dried & fresh fruit and tinned fruit salad. The service was friendly but discrete.
We chose Les Brises because we were going to an event at the casino and it was within walking distance of it. I'm so glad we did because it was such a lovely spot. It took about 20 minutes to walk into the town centre but this was a very pleasant walk between the seafront and the parks. We walked back along the road after our night out and felt perfectly safe. Everywhere was very quiet.
Although Les Brises is on the seafront, it doesn't have a beach area. There is a large patio area with a sea wall and there are lots of tables and chairs and some sunbeds (I didn't count them!) Some of the guests had breakfast on the patio.
The only downside for us was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there was room service, if needed.
We will definitely stay here again. It was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We paid extra for a sea view and it was well worthwhile. Fine room with lovely balcony, No restaurant, but it was a pleasant walk through parks to an area full of them. Continental breakfast served in room facing a big terrace overlooking the sea was fine.
We plan to go again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Brises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Brises

Address: Chemin de la Digue Richelieu, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#9 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Brises 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sea front, just 2 kilometres from the old port, Hotel Les Brises offers you a magnificent panoramic view of the sea and of nearby islands. The hotel has five floors, all accessible by lift, as well as free wifi throughout the hotel and an underground secured carpark free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Brises reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Brises La Rochelle
Les Brises Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Brises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.