We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Nicolas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Nicolas to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Nicolas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 rue Sardinerie et place de la Solette, 17000 La Rochelle, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ratingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not having booked a room beforehand, we took a chance and drove to St. Nicholas! The staff were very helpful and welcoming, they spoke perfect English, gave us 2 rooms, advised us where to find safe, underground public parking close-by.
The hotel was cosy, very central, I can highly recommend it. Unfortunately we left very early the next morning so could not enjoy breakfast, but I was given a delicious complimentary cup of coffee!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    191
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
73
182
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September with friends. We had not previously booked and were very pleased to be fitted in. The staff were extremely helpful and the Hotel was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was also very good and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. I stayed for 4 nights. They offer great service with free parking, it is very clean and the breakfast is delicious. The place is quiet, and the location is perfect, there are many restaurants and bars on walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in September. Top marks for cleanliness, secure parking and efficient staff. Great breakfasts , huge fresh croissants, staff constantly replenishing fruit, eggs, bacon. Nothing too much trouble. Quiet courtyard at the front of the hotel, perfect for reading and people watching. A short stroll over the bridge and you are in the busy, lively resort. Recommend it for more than a one night stop over on journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights from 29th July 2013 with my wife and 16 year old son.
The hotel isn’t the easiest to find, especially after the drive from Paris. It’s down a back street just off the main harbour area. Some decent sized sign posts would help.
There is a secure car park (10 euros per night) but you must book, something Hotels.com, who we booked with, did not tell us. When we checked in, we were told we could only park there for two nights as the car park was fully booked after that. We had to take our car to the Saint Nicolas public car park, about a five minute walk away, which charged a similar amount. It’s a very well maintained, well lit underground car park and felt secure. I have since found out from Tripadvisor that guests from the nearby Le Yachtman Hotel can book their cars into the Saint Nicolas’s car park!
Our room (126) was very disappointing. The beds were nothing special and the room was very minimalist in terms of furniture/amenities. There were no comfortable chairs to sit on, no mini-bar and no tea/coffee making facilities. There was a safe in the cupboard. The view from our window was nothing special. We looked out on to the roof of the garage and other rooms all round a tiny square area. Be warned. The windows have shutters that make a racket when opened/closed and for some reason, some people seemed to like opening/closing their shutters at all hours of the night.
The staff were friendly (ish), but nothing to write home about. We didn’t eat in the hotel but on the occasions we walked through the restaurant area when breakfast was being served, there seemed to be no atmosphere in the room. People just sitting looking at each other. No conversation. Very dull!
If you want a nice drink in the late afternoon/early evening, turn left out of the reception and left again into Rue Sardinerie, and after literally a few seconds there is a lovely little square on the right with a few bars. It’s a little sun trap and the prices are cheaper than the hotel.
Overall, the hotel is very clean in terms of public areas and rooms and would I stay here again? Probably, but I wasn’t keen on the room we had.
La Rochelle was very much bigger than I thought it was going to be. For some reason I thought it was going to be some quaint little fishing village! Perhaps I should’ve researched it a bit more!! The main road around the harbour is closed at eight o’clock in the evening and the street entertainers and stalls take over. But I would definitely go back. Plenty of bars and restaurants, and if you like them, shops!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Probably the best location in La Rochelle if you are with a car and difficult to beat if you are not. Excellent front of house staff and probably the most thorough housekeeping team that we have come across . The rooms are equipped with UK sockets as well as French. The beds and pillows are of high quality and although on the small side the rooms are very comfortable. We all agreed that the breakfast was worth the money with everything you could expect from a cold buffet plus hot (streaky) bacon and scrambled eggs. If you are going out for the day to one of the excellent beaches south of La Rochelle or Il de Re there is a fantastic bakery 50 metres away opposite the General Humbert Irish pub. Having stayed there twice now I would recommend the rooms at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter but noise is not an issue really anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas

Address: 13 rue Sardinerie et place de la Solette, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel La Rochelle
Comfort Inn La Rochelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.