We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entre Hotes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rochelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entre Hotes
Save
You added Entre Hotes to your Saves list
8 rue Reaumur, 17000 La Rochelle, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 La Rochelle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

What an amazing Bed and Breakfast!

We stayed in the Chambre Insolite for a couple of nights whilst travelling around France on our honeymoon. We were greeted by the owners with a real warmth that is hard to find. Despite us turning up far too early having not really clocked onto the check in time they quickly sorted out the finishing touches to our room while giving us some tips on where to visit.

The room was amazing. Having stayed in a remote 'eco-lodge' the week before hand with a shower that had to be heated up by a log fire (amazing fun!) we were desperate for a hot bath. We were not disappointed! The finish in the room is superb, along with slippers and dressing gowns we were treated to a whole selection of bath soaks, an ipod/phone dock, candels etc etc etc. We had our own private enterance at the back and we could even store our bikes in the garage. I could go on and on...

The breakfasts were always superb with freshly squeezed orange juice, the usual pastries etc in addition to that we were treated to pancakes one day and bacon and eggs the next.

The owners were wonderful. One evening they even treated us to a bottle of fizz which was very well recieved. They made us feel very special and went above and beyond what would be expected of them.

The location is perfect being just a few minute walk from the harbour front.

We are so happy that we chose to stay here and will definitly be back!

Room Tip: The Chambre Insolite is a perfect room for a romantic trip. Well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    30
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
141
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is indeed a very nice and clean "hotel" with a super friendly owner family - cozy and warm. The location right aside a park and only a few steps to the beach and harbor. A true jewel in La Rochelle at a very attractive price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed five nights and enjoyed it very much. The hosts were welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was generous and the garden was beautiful. It is perfectly located walking distance to the port bad restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a wonderful B&B within a 5 minute walk of old La Rochelle and its many excellent restaurants. We had one of the two upstairs rooms that overlooked the elegant courtyard garden. Our room was spacious with a modern bathroom, large comfortable bed, and a wall-mounted TV with excellent reception. Wifi worked perfectly. There are four rooms in the building and a separate room in what had been a cellar at the back of the courtyard/garden.

The Lebrins are thoughtful, knowledgeable hosts who run a great B&B, ready to recommend favourite restaurants and local attractions to their guests. They also provide wonderful breakfasts for those who include it in their stay. When the weather is fine you eat in the courtyard, otherwise inside.

One year old 'Happy', the lovely family dog, is always ready for attention but is kept discretely out of meal areas. He lives his name.

Behind Entre-Hôtes is a large public garden pleasant to stroll through. If you like bicycling then La Rochelle will please you with its clearly-marked bike lanes even in round-abouts. There are commuter bike hire stations throughout the greater city but using them proved impossible for us with Australian credit cards. We were able to hire 2 bikes from the kiosk near the Tourism Office, providing a €150 security deposit. The first 2 hours hire was free and one can cover a lot of territory around La Rochelle in that time. It is a very bike-friendly city.

You can't visit La Rochelle and not have an ice cream from Ernest le Glacier - absolutely wonderful and worth queuing for on warm evenings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

For our first visit to La Rochelle, the Lebrin's were the perfect hosts. They gave us great recommendations for dining and the attractions nearby. The location, overlooking a large park, is quiet and peaceful, yet just minutes away by walking from the sites of the city. Our room was well appointed and the morning service was personal and filled with delights. We look forward to a return visit here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Although it appears rather severe from the street, once inside you find a beautiful and charming oasis. Our room was very spacious and modern and overlooked the garden. The bathroom was superb. Patricia and Patrick are charming hosts and were extremely helpful in advising us on restaurants and laundries. Breakfast was really lovely with beautiful pastries and freshly cooked eggs and crepes. There was a also a good selection of fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt. There is no parking on the property but we were lucky enough to find a space in the Chemin du Rempart immediately behind the B&B. There is no charge for parking there. It is a short walk from the B&B to the centre of the town and its attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in October. M. and Mme. Lebrin are charming and well-informed hosts. We felt welcome from the start (including when I contacted them to make the booking, which was very efficiently handled). We had a lovely quiet room overlooking the garden. It and the ensuite bathroom were well-equipped. Breakfast each morning was delicious and there was always something new to enjoy: fresh apple compote, delicious local strawberries, pancakes etc. My gluten allergy was also well catered for without any fuss. The house is within easy walking distance of the town and port and we were very happy not to have a car for the week. When we next visit La Rochelle, we will definitely chose Entre Hotes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Entre Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entre Hotes

Address: 8 rue Reaumur, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beguiled by the charm of La Rochelle, its archway-lined streets, its gargoyles and rich historic past, Patrick and Patricia Lebrin have chosen an 18th century home in the heart of town close by the old harbour to open a Bed & Breakfast which offers 4 roomsoverlooking a lovely garden to ensure your calm, comfort and relaxation.Breakfast is served on the ground floor in a cheerful open kitchen area or on the outdoor terrace, weather permitting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entre Hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.