We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice countryside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette to your Saves list
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 rue du Chemin des Dames | Chamouille, 02860 Laon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice countryside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is located in the beautiful french countryside by a lake. As far as we could see, all the rooms have a lake view.

The major attraction is a golf course just next to the hotel. We do not play golf so the quality of the course has to be reviewed by someone else :)

The hotel rooms cost around 90 EUR for a double room. Our room was large with a balcony, spacious bath with tub, sofa, table, flat screen and mini bar. The mini bar was unfortunately more or less broken. The cooling was really ineffective. The tv has mostly french and german channels.
The room does not have any air conditioning so it can get really hot. We found out that we had to sleep with the balcony door open, but if you do, keep the lights off or you will be invaded by mosquitos.
The bed is good with extra pillows available. There is also a safe in the closet.
There is only a open-air car park at the hotel but we felt it to be safe.

The only real drawback of the hotel is the price of the breakfast. 14 EUR per person! And the selections available is not exactly multiple. Here are just the basics...

There is also a family vacation park located on the opposite side of the lake with a gigantic tropical waterpark. The park has almost 1000 bungalows and can become really crowded. To enter, you will have to pay a fee at the entrance but watch out, the guards do not speak one word of english...the do accept credit cards though :) We do not know the price since we had family staying in the park and could enter as visiting guests.

All in all a good hotel with some drawbacks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    89
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
87
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have attended the Laon Circuit Historique Car Rally each year since 2006 and have always stayed here each time extending our stay and have already booked for next years event and will be staying a week!

The hotel is situated approximately 15 minutes drive south of Laon on the edge of a lake and forest. Ideal base also for visiting World War I battlefields.

All rooms are on the back of the hotel overlooking the lake. Rooms are spacious, well furnished and have a small balcony - ideal for sitting with a glass of wine and watching the sun go down over the lake! The restaurant is excellent - breakfast is buffet style and evening meals are of a very high quality. Only minor criticism is the price of drinks seem to creep up each year and are on the more expensive side of what you would expect in a 3*. However the fact we have stayed each year since 2006 and have booked for next year says it all!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were a party of 6 mixed & had a great time.
the position & views over the lake are stunning & helped by some sun!
our visit coincided with the classic cars parade in Laon, so most of the drivers were staying too, helping to the atmosphere.
Golf couse was very demanding but helpful & close, hotel restaurant was good enough for 3*, the service was generally pretty good, and I must add Christopher was so helpful & made us feel special whiich isn't always the way with the english in france!
we will be back,, great experience thank you .

David Roberts

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We have been using this Hotel for about eight years as overnight stop on drive from Provence to Calais. About 20 mins from A26 leaving at Exit 14 (Chemin des Dames) and only 2 Hours next morning to Calais. We have never booked and always found a room.
Our small dog is welcomed, charge today 11Euro.
Room charge 89Euro and Breakfast Buffet 14 Euro Each
The breakfast buffet is excellent including machine to squeeze your own fresh orange juice.
Excellent WiFi with easy connection.
Adequate and enjoyable dinner with efficient and pleasant service.
Yes I agree with a previous contributor the hotel is a little tired but certainly not dirty.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Stayed for one night in superior room. Enjoyed a pleasant dinner in the lake view restaurant. This would be a good hotel for a week end break in the summer when the pool and grounds can be enjoyed.The hotel is only just over 2 hours from Calais. Pleasant staff and free parking. I paid 12 euros a day in Rouen Mercure!
The hotel is marketed under Inter Hotels. Would recommend. 165Euros for 2 including drinks and dinner no breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We picked this hotel and were surprised to find that it was no longer marketed in the Mercure group. They left it in April 2009 and is now operated independently.
The hotel is now very tired and needs a refurbishment and I would guess that Mercure got rid of them rather than he other way round.
The location of the horel by the lake is very nice and the staff and food were very good.
The hotel has good sized bedrooms with balconies overlooking the lak and should be a wonderful spot.
The rooms needed new curtains, paint, carpets, bedding and a very good clean.
Puiblic rooms were not so bad but when you look into the corners you see the dirt.
I hope that someone now does spend serious money doing renovating the hotel as it could be brilliant.
Now marketed as "Hotel Du Golf De L'Ailette'

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed here for six nights in September. Most enjoyable. Light, good sized rooms, although probably due for a refurbishment within the the next year. Spotlessly clean with sheets changed daily. All rooms have lake view and balcony (direct access to gardens on ground floor) Try and got a room on the top (2nd) floor Food varied, and very well cooked and presented. Staff are friendly and we found very helpful. The hotel is without doubt a very good three star and does represent good value for money. A very good place from which to explore the Champagne region. Loan 20 mins by car. Reims 40-45 mins

  • Liked — the balconies overlooking the lake
  • Disliked — nothing much
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette

Address: 23 rue du Chemin des Dames | Chamouille, 02860 Laon, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the stunning Parc Nautique de l Ailette and its golf course. A stopover for business or leisure in a natural environment. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, parking, jogging and billiards. Golf of 18 holes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.