We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover in lovely town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Banniere de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Banniere de France to your Saves list
Hotel de la Banniere de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue Franklin-D.-Roosevelt, 02000 Laon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stopover in lovely town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to the South of France and were glad we did. Laon is a beautiful town and Hotel de la Banniere is ideally situated to explore it! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the breakfast was excellent. We ate dinner in the restaurant - and though it wasn't cheap it was really good. We would certainly recommend it as an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oneinamyllion
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July as we were attending a friend's wedding in a neighbouring town. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and helped us through a number of emergencies, including lending us an umbrella during a rain storm and returning my husband's glasses by post free of charge after he left them behind. The village of Laon is a lovely place to visit and Hotel de la Banniere de France is ideally located in the centre of the old town, perfect for exploring the historic parts of the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Entirely agree with a recent review that "hotel and restaurant are average but the people are extremely friendly". The staff really make the hotel and its great as a stopover either on the way from the UK or on the way back. The restaurant is OK but not great and you might be better off finding somewhere else in town (seem to be a large selection near Cathedral which is only 10 mins walk). The rooms are fine but bathroom is small with pathetic water pressure (on second floor). Sounds like a bad review but we would stay again as a stopover as the staff are so welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Hopefully lower floors have better water pressure but this is only speculation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

hotel and restaurant are average but the people are extremely friendly
The setting in the upper medieval town is beautiful.
The cathedral is worth a trip there. Nice outside places to sit and have a bite or a drink..
Beautiful to walk along the city walls in the evening,

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, but I am a good sleeper, if not ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Laon was a lovely place and this was a worthwhile stopover. We found the parking in the garage to be a challenge!! The reception was friendly and pleasant. We would be happy to come here again. The hotel is in an interesting part of the town and only a short walk from the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The number of British voices in the restaurant made it obvious that this is a popular first or last stop for people driving on the continent. It's in a lovely location, right up on top of the "montagne" or old city, offering some very pleasant walks in the evening if you need to stretch your legs after a long drive.

The room we had was on the second floor, up some slightly uneven stairs, so it's not entirely disabled-friendly, but the room itself was large, cheerful and well-equipped. The bathroom was big and the shower had enough force to be satisfying, and proper toiletries are supplied, not just a squeezy bottle on the wall. The beds (plural - our room had two small doubles and a single!) were very comfy, with extra pillows in the wardrobe.

Half-board is offered, which saves the effort of hunting for a meal at the end of a long day, and the food is very good value for money, tasty and beautifully-presented. The staff in the dining room are very formal and correct, but also friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend taking this option - even the cheapest "menu" had some delicious options and the cheese board, which we did not take, looked amazing.

Parking is tricky - what counted as a large garage in the photograph from the early 1900s is really not big at all - it took considerable manoeuvring skill to get in and my husband and two hotel staff decided to help me to get out (I could have managed with fewer, but they were very kind.) However, it is certainly secure, which counts for a lot if you are on your way back from two weeks of vineyard visits!

It's a traditional hotel in the best sense of the word, and with extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with stairs ask for a room lower down, as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Such a friendly welcome and service throughout our three days' stay, enhanced our visit to Laon. Excellent location in the centre of Laon old town, very good food. Upper rooms are ample with charming decor, but anyone not prepared to climb stairs will need a lower room as there is no lift. The staff will carry your luggage up though.

Room Tip: Recommend upstairs (no lift) for charm and view. Free Wifi was slow in the rush hour, but worked we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Banniere de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Banniere de France

Address: 11 rue Franklin-D.-Roosevelt, 02000 Laon, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Banniere de France 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the MEDIEVAL TOWN OF LAON and its classified surroundings, Mr Moustadraf and his professionnal team will offer you a warm welcome at the HOTEL DE LA BANNIERE DE FRANCE, a former post-carriage inn , where you will enjoy the charm of a entirely renovated, tricentennial country inn and a restaurant for gourmets. .The 18 BEDROOMS, the private park place, the GOURMET RESTAURANT with a choice of the best French vintages from its famous wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Banniere de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Banniere France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Banniere de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.