We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie St-Vincent

Hostellerie St-Vincent
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie St-Vincent to your Saves list
Hostellerie St-Vincent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Charles de Gaulle, 02000 Laon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Trefriw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

St Vincent has not moved with the times - seriously in need of a refurbishment. Shower was hand held or needed to kneel down, not easy if not too nimble. No air conditioning. Regret you would do better at one of the chains.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
17
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We shot past the hotel first time, as we found the sign rather low and difficult to see, but maybe that is just us, as the hotel is right on the roundabout off the motorway. It looks like a motel as it is single storey, long and low, with plenty of parking space. The receptionist told me he was also the owner, and he was very pleasant and helpful, giving us a map of the old town and instructions as how to get up there. It was about a five minute drive, and fabulous views of Picardy from up at the cathedral. We were content with our stay of one night for 65 euros booked through booking.com. As others have said, it is tired and could do with a refurb, but actually was very clean and tidy. Our breakfast was as good as any, plus you could boil your own fresh egg. We did not eat in the resteraunt, which is apparently a separate concession. My only gripe was that the walls were very thin, and I could hear all the goings on in the adjoining bathroom, and my bed was rock hard. Apart from this it was a convienient stopover whilst travelling through France.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Highly suitable for over night stop.
Good restaurant
Good bedroom/bathroom (as shown on Home Page)
All staff very friendly. Very close to autoroute and easy to find.
Total opposite to Hotel Charme en Maconnais

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Having seen Laon from the autoroute for many years we decided to break a journey home with a night in Laon. Hotel St Vincent is in a commercial area quite distant from the historic old town. From the outside it looks to be stuck in the 1970s and in need of investment. Inside it is vast, clean and very 1975. However the welcome was warm and the service excellent. Comfortable room with a nice bed was let down only by the extremely narrow bath and lack of shower facility. Overall adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For some reason the card machines in the 'chain' budget hotels were not accepting any of my plastic - I had driven from Reims trying to get a bed for the night. At midnight I spotted a receptionist int his hotel and stopped - although it was more expensive that I had wanted it was a relief to find a person to help out.
The room was a nice size - had a door opening onto the garden, a tv, the bathroom had a bath and a separate loo.
The bed was comfortable, but there was no tea making facility. Breakfast was 9.50€ extra and was not really worth it at all. The buffet was sparse and not topped up - there was only bits of cheese left, but the croissants and bread were fresh. Coffee came from a machine - and was 'instant' style.
I would probably not return as it was expensive for a stop over hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stopped at this hotel on the way to Zermatt . The outside is not attractive but is quite nice inside. The rooms could do with a little more furniture though it was ok. We personally did not stay and eat at the restaurant there but ate out. Do not eat around the hotel but head towards the Cathedral which is a very nice area.
Our room was near the road so we could hear lots of trucks passing . Breakfast was good, lots of choices and good value for money.
All in all it is fine for a quick stop off.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We chose the hotel as it offered a restaurant which was mentioned in the Michelin guide .Reception was fine and the staff helpful .Our room was at the back overlooking a car park and unobtrusive Allotment gardens. The room was clean but ther appeared to be no extractor in the bathroom.Breakfast was satisfactory , fresh boiled eggs etc.better than what some Ibis hotels offer.
The restaurant was well attended by guests and locals and we enjoyed our meal which was good .The Plat du Jour ran out quite quickly!
A good place to stop for the night and to visit the Old Town which was most interesting.There is a lot of history in the area particularly concerning the First World War.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie St-Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie St-Vincent

Address: Av Charles de Gaulle, 02000 Laon, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie St-Vincent 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostellerie St-Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie St-Vincent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.