We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air con - you get what you pay for!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Laon

Ibis Budget Laon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ibis Budget Laon to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Laon
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Georges Pompidou | ZAC Ile de France, 02000 Laon, France (Formerly Etap Hotel Laon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Woking
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No air con - you get what you pay for!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

After a long drive from Germany, it was 37C when we arrived, and you had to squint at a screen outside in the bright sunlight to get a code to let you into the hotel and your room. There's only someone at reception for certain times so not very welcoming.

I then had to really push the room door hard, so not really a great experience before we were even in the room. The room was small (okay, we didn't pay much) and with no air conditioning it was a long, long night. There was loads of noise as some family decided to smoke outside and talk very loudly, and with no staff around, there's not much you can do.

Although it has a restaurant it doesn't open on the weekends - not helpful at all, so we had to endure the local McDonalds which serves the slowest 'fast food' known to man.

For €35 I should not expect much, but next time I'll pay more for something a bit more substantial.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    43
    49
    15
    5
See reviews for
36
48
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We recently stayed in the Etap in Laon on our way south towards Italy. It was very well-situated after a long drive from Scotland and into France. The hotel was easy to find and located close enough to the centre of the town to drop in for dinner.
The welcome was warm from the woman on reception and the room was really very clean and comfortable. We were surprised to find we had internet access and an English language TV channel.
The breakfast options were simple but there was enough choice and an ample selection on offer.
We'd definitely recommend this as a budget option hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Usual good value with the addition of a very nice little restaurant on the premises. Laon is an extremely interesting town and well worth a visit. There is good parking near the city walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located just off N2, bypassing Laon South, the hotel should be easy to find. In fact, it is not. Google Earth places it on the rond-pont at the end of the short exit road off N2. GPS struggles to find the correct bit of (un-road-signed) Avenue Georges Pompidou.
Go East from the rond-point on Av Geo Pomp and, 100 m along, turn at the small sign to a narrow entry lane just past the 3 storey, prominent Ibis Hotel.
The hotel is a two-storey within a cluster of small scale service and commercial units. No shade trees in the car park.
Otherwise, it provides everything else you may need for a way-stop on a trip. Recently refurbed, the rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and with more than adequate bathrooms.
A significant plus is the building is at right angles to N2 so the rooms are not directly affected by traffic noise, though it is very audible when you are outside.
Because it is away from the town centre there is an on-site restaurant that offers a simple, properly prepared meal with a varied menu for 14 Euro, and perfectly adequate wine. Good value, this.
Laon old town is high up on the ridge, a mass of narrow streets and very much tourist and government services focussed. Almost essential to drive up if you don't like steep, hot walking but there are pay car parks dotted everywhere. The rest of the town conducts its business down the slopes and is a typical, local French town. There are buses that will get you up the hill and if you are confident enough in speaking French these are much the better option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

hi
i have stayed in many etaps before but this must go down as the worst, to start with we booked it on the internet site, paid on line got email to confirm payment and reservation,turned up at 3 pm, no one on site so tried the auto reservation machine outside,put reservation number in ,confirmed it but said payment was needed???
waited for recepionist to turn up at 5 pm,after it looked as though she had done the gardening by the state of her nails[ my wifes comment]she also said that payment was needed so i paid again on credit card to get a our room,as you walk into the hotel it stinks of urine,our room no7 had a broken toilet seat /shower head and a shower curtain too short so it flooded the bathroom, also cobwebs in the bathroom, we did complain about the shower and a cleaner did clean it up but said that there is nothing they could do, now in the process of trying to get one of payments back but at the moment the web site is not very helpfull,will not be staying at this one again!!!!

Room Tip: tip dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The rooms are way too small - the shower has the usual too short curtain, almost impossible to have a good shower, especially because the shower head had broken and wouldn't stay on the wall - didn't anyone notice..? Breakfast was minimal, little choice and the milk was off - no-one around to complain to. Save your money and find somewhere better - we will.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Laon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Laon

Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou | ZAC Ile de France, 02000 Laon, France (Formerly Etap Hotel Laon)
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Laon 1*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Laon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Laon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.