We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Londres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Londres to your Saves list
Le Londres
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48, rue d'Orleans, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Saumur
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself & my husband stayed at Hotel de Londres for two nights as part of our French Tour in early October. The hotel is in a great central location & we were able to secure a parking place for both nights which was great. The hotel is well presented with a modern contemporary feel, our room was bright & colourful (orange theme) with a modern shower room & seperate but very very small toilet, which was the only negative I could find! We also didn't have air conditioning which I could imagaine could be problematic at the hit of summer, but we were happy to throw open the beautiful big windows onto the street below.Internet access is available free in the which is always appreciated & we found all the staff warm & friendly. A great hotel in the centre of Saumur which is modern, clean & certainly not expensive, would recommend for a few nights stay,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    82
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
53
96
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A good central location. The reception is on the first floor and doesn't have a lift so luggage has to be taken up before booking in. Parking is at the rear at 5 euros per night, suggest you book as space is limited. Breakfast was 8.25 euros each although our booking confirmation was at 8 euros. Wifi is advertised as free of charge throughout hotel but again they tried to charge for it, which I refused to pay. Beware!!!! the eggs on the breakfast table unlike at many hotels which are hard boiled are not here, they are fresh and have to be boiled in a pan. It's very hard to conceal an uncooked egg after cracking it on your plate!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel. The hotel rooms have been beautifully decorated, with attention to detail, beds very comfy and lovely crisp bed linen, perfect after 2 weeks in a caravan. We were in a family room which had air con which was a great bonus. The hotel is in the centre of Saumur, close to the square where you will find some lovely bars and restaurants. Saumur offers some beautiful sparkling wine, you can visit a number of cave`s and take the full tour or just wine taste. Louis de Grenelle is a must, the wine is absolutey delicious, also visit the Ackerman cave, beautiful wine. The hotel offers secure parking at 5.00 euro per day, though it is advisable to book prior to arriving. Great hotel and lovely town, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in Saumur for two nights to visit the nearby Fontevraud Abbey. We had a nice clean family room and the receptionist was fantastic. She made all sorts of enquiries on our behalf to fulfill our sight seeing needs and gave us iced water (upon request) as it was very hot. The free wi fi was a bonus and there were planty of very reasonably priced restaurants around (steak and chips for €8!) We booked parking at the hotel for €5 per day, which was secure. The only downside: no lifts or air con, but we did have a fan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel which is located in the centre of Saumur close to restaurants and the Loire for an evening stroll. The reception is on the 1st floor. The room I stayed in this time had air con so we got a comfortable nights sleep. The room was very clean and in good order with a nice en-suite facility.
There is secure parking at the rear which is quite tight for larger vehicles. The breakfast room was busy on one morning but the lady in charge was welcoming and cleared tables quickly to ensure everyone was looked after in the shortest possible time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lovely designed bedroom big and bright, though there was a fan it could of done with being air conditioned, as it got so much sun during the day it was very warm on the night. Clean and modern bathroom. Great location and friendly staff, good on site parking facilities for 5 euro a day. The location is right in the centre of Saumur, close to the sights and restaurants / cafes. A Great base for the area and a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Go for an air conditioned room in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Londres

Address: 48, rue d'Orleans, 49400 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#5 Family Hotel in Saumur
#6 Business Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Londres Hotel
De Londres Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Londres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.