We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Beaulieu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau de Beaulieu to your Saves list
Chateau de Beaulieu
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route de Montsoreau, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Saumur B&B and Inns
ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

What a wonderful place! Mary and Connor our hosts were most gracious and helped to make our holiday, offering advice on places to visit and where best to sample the french cuisine. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and made feel at home. The accomodation was first class and the breakfasts a delicious combination of Irish (delicious brown bread and scones) and french. Chateau de Beaulieu is certainly a place we would return to.
Mary, Pat, Niamh and Emer Murphy,
Cork, Ireland

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Lovely spot, beautiful rooms: we were delighted by both the accomodations as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Very biker friendly and we were on a bike trip after all. From the welcoming champagne and chocolate biscuits on our arrival, to the excellent breakfast in the morning, everything was great. Yes, it was a bit more expensive than other places of the same type that we spent on this trip but it is right near town (i.e., bikeable at night to the Saumur restaurants) and most others we stayed at were not. We liked it very much and would stay there again. I find it hard to believe the crtical reviews and makes me rethink my own reliance on some of these reviews when I read them to decide on a place.

  • Liked — its atmosphere and ambiance.
  • Disliked — The room wasn't that bright, but I still liked it.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Reading the previous review I felt I had to write to share my experience.

I took my girlfrien on a tour of my native France last year. When we arrived at Saumur we stayed in this hotel on a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there a few months previosly, we were not dissappointed. The owners were extremly friendly. After being shown to our room, which was beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and clean.; we were enjoyed a complementary glass of champagne beside a roaring fire.

Saumur is a beautiful area with a very interessting history, I would recommend Saumur to anyone interested in wine and good food in unusual settings-many of the restaurants are carved out of the soft rock particular to the area. The chateau itself is located beside a large winery specilising in sparkling wine and is within close distance of the town and its many restaurants; pâtisseries and boulangeries

Our experience of Saumur and Chateau de Beaulieu was excellent, although We stayed only afew days we will definetely be back to the Chateau and hope to explore the area further. It is difficult to believe the previous reviewer is describing the same place...

  • Liked — very welcoming hosts, beautiful Chateau
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed here for three nights in August and found Chateau de Beaulieu to be both welcoming and hospitable. We arrived early, with our two teenagers, to be greeted by Mary. Our suite wasn't quite ready but we were able to leave our luggage in the room and were given a key and Mary recommended a number of places to visit locally. Upon return we found the suite to be both clean and comfortable - incidentally Mary told us there are fire and smoke alarms directly linked to the local fire station.

We ate our evening meals in Saumur which is no more than five minutes drive with easy parking. Mary told us where all the restaurants were and we found a couple of good ones in Rue St. Nicolas (La Chianti and La Petite Barrique). No problem in getting back into the chateau later in the evening.

Breakfast was available from 8.30 - 10.00 which was more than sufficient. Food, including several sorts of cheeses, meats, bread, croissants and fruit, was regularly replenished. Mary even put on extra fruit for our son (who has a gluten allergy) without being asked to do so. She also makes her own Soda Bread every day which was delicious (and she even gave us her recipe!)

From our experience we would warmly recommend this as realistically priced accommodation given the setting, the surroundings and the welcome given.

  • Liked — The interior of the house - really different to stay in this type of historical accommodation
  • Disliked — There was nothing we disliked
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

The Chateau de Beaulieu is an exceptional inn with welcoming and hospitable hosts.
It is centuries old but renovated to offer the charm and history of yesterday and the comfort of today. The optional breakfast is a buffet feast of delicious foods.

This quiet retreat in Saumur in the Loire Valley is a unique springboard for exploring the area. There are many daytrip destinations in this region known for its grand castles.
We enjoyed abbeys, grand chateaus, troglodyte caves, wine caves for tasting, and even the Saturday open air market in the old town of Saumur, a few minutes drive. The town also offers excellent food, everything from casual bistros and creperies to gourmet restaurants.

  • Liked — Warmth of owners, ambiance, cleanliness, location.
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We read about Chateau de Beaulieu in Saumur on TripAdvisor. We stayed there for three nights at Easter - my husband and I, and our 10 year old son. We had no difficulty finding the Chateau which is just outside the lovely town of Saumur. As soon as we walked in the door we were made to feel at home by both Mary and Connor. Over a glass of Crémant (the local bubbly) in their beautiful salon, they gave us advice on places to visit and also discussed the wonderful restaurants in and around Saumur, some of which they booked for us during our stay.

We had the Montespan room, which is a large triple room with private bathroom. It was meticulously clean, beautifully furnished and decorated. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast (excellent), although not included in the price of the room, is however, an event. Breakfast at Chateau de Beaulieu is a generous buffet (a Brunch), and it really set us up for the day’s sightseeing trip.

Chateau de Beaulieu is a real gem, full of delicate French charm. We will definitely be back. My son, in particular, want’s to see the ‘Ambassadeur’ (their dog BooBoo) again, and get swimming in the lovely heated swimming pool. Wonderful, wonderful memories …

  • Liked — The wonderful welcome and beautiful surroundings.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

We spend two nights at the chateau and we were very disappointed. We had a room at the attic who looks nothing like these on the pictures at the internetsite. It was dark and grey with a small window, but still E 160,- per night excl. breakfast. We had a shower who didn't work and we couldn't shower on the second day, but never get a excuse. The swimmingpool had to much chlore so when you swim it was foamy.
We have bin in 10 different chambre d'hote on our holliday (we are with two adults and two children) and this one was the most expensive and had to be our highligt because of my husbands birthday. But all the others where much better!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Beaulieu

Address: Route de Montsoreau, 49400 Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Beaulieu 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Beaulieu is a beautiful and romantic 18th-century castle nestled in the middle of a park with hundred-year-old trees, and situated just 200 meters from the banks of the Loire River and 2.5km from the lovely town of Saumur. Listed as a 'Monument Historique' by the French Ministry of Culture, Chateau de Beaulieu is recognised for its light and elegant architecture. At the chateau you can enjoy French billiards, or a swim in the heated pool set amongst the vine rows of the vineyard.Dr & Mme Coady-Maguire purchased Chateau de Beaulieu in 2003, and guests can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome to their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Beaulieu Hotel Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Beaulieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.