We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically interesting and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud

Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud
Fontevraud-L'Abbaye, Saumur, France
02 41 51 73 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Saumur
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Historically interesting and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Enjoyed visiting the abbaye and its gardens. I recommend the audio guide as it has lots of interesting facts and stories about the complex. There will soon be a hotel opening in one of the buildings which would be super cool to stay at. I loved visiting in the off season as it was uncrowded but imagine that the garden would be amazing in the summer. There were still some flowers in bloom as well as herb hedges which were lovely.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    48
    12
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Steeped in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The abbey buildings are beautifully preserved and restored, and the Romanesque kitchens are unique. The main reason to come here, if you have an interest in history, is the fact that three of the most famous leaders of the late Middle Ages were buried here: Henry Plantagenet, his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, and their son Richard the Lionheart. If you have an interest in European history at the time of the Crusades, this is a five star, not-to-be missed destination. If not, i can understand some of the lower scores. It is not, after all, Chartres or Chambord.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we took the time to follow the directions, very interesting and good information.we went on a warm dry day, not sure it would have been so good if it had been raining.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Full of Emptiness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The description makes it sound great. Former co-ed abbey that was turned into one of the toughest prisons in France, now a tourist destination with a soon-to-be-built 4 star hotel! Well, ok, now that I look back on the description, I can see that my expectations were high. I've been to some nice abbeys in other countries, so I thought this might be interesting. The whole place is still stripped bare of anything historical, except for the tops of the coffins that once housed royalty. I really wouldn't go out of my way to visit this site.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billinghay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Dog in a bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Yes you can visit here with you dog but you have to carry in bag which they provide goes without saying you wouldnt be able to take your labrador!,we have a westie and shes heavy enough! The overall experience I have to say was average, the commentary is essential as otherwise you would end up wandering around not really knowing what anything is , would not bother to visit again but glad did as it does have historical interest being the resting place of Richard the Lion Heart,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.