We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping de l'Ile d'Offard

Camping de l'Ile d'Offard
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saumur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping de l'Ile d'Offard
Save
You added Camping de l'Ile d'Offard to your Saves list
Rue de Verden, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent site with very clean toilets/shower block with seats !!!
Staff great /spoke good english ..Restraunt terrible but may now have a different operator.
Have camped and had a Cabin ,,both excellent ,the low hedges on the pitches would be my only complaint. Not all Flower 4 star sites are equal ..consult trip advisor prior to booking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just come back from a week of camping with 3 young children and my wife. Amazing location and lovely scenery. This really was one of the best campsites I've been to, but worth considering the following before booking:

- During busy season, the campsite seemed very short of reception staff. Queues built up for checking in and general inquiries. On one occasion I queued or 20 mins just to ask for a map of the town. The receptionist was friendly but seemed determined to deal with one customer at a time even if it meant phoning somebody else to make additional inquiries and staring intently at her desk to avoid making eye contact with the next customer. On another occasion my entry code was wrong. Again I waited 30 mins just to be allowed to drive into the campsite.This gave a poor impression of customer service. More staff required.

- Drains. Lots of problems when we were there. Toilets and sinks blocked three times. Staff were quick to respond but wasn't convenient when you've paid for your own toilet and shower and you have 3 kids to contend with.

- Wi-fi. It's free, but it's rubbish. Never really worked well from any part of the campsite. I have a feeling it was oversubscribed during parts of the day. It was completely unavailable for one day.

- Live music. Some people love it, some people hate it. We hated it. Very loud karaoke and cheesy covers rock bands pervaded every corner of the campsite until midnight on 3 occasions during the week we stayed. If you are booking for young children or like to go to bed early - steer clear. Or ask to be placed right at the back of the campsite. If you do like singing along to "Hey Jude" you're in for a treat.

- Walk into Saumur town center is more like a 20 minute walk but worth it.

- Bar food. Friendly bar staff, but for a French diner, it's well below par. More like cheap, over-cooked, microwaved pub grub. Go into town, there's more choice and better food.

All that said, I'll definitely be going back next year and I hope my comments are taken on board and this campsite goes from Very Good to Excellent.

Room Tip: Go for plots at the back of the campsite away from the bar if you like to go to sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvechurch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from ten days based on this site and were very pleased with our time here. Located in the privileged pitches with views over the River Loire and the chateau we felt we were well positioned. Our tent is large an Outwell Montana Lake with front extension and there was plenty of space on the pitch for this large family tent. To make life that bit easier we hired a fridge and on arriving at the site were told this would be delivered shortly. Five minutes later a brand new fridge arrived. Staff were very helpful in the reception and our two young teenagers found their entertainment well suited to them. The staff were very attentive and I could not fault them. A great mix of nationalities enabled my son to meet and play with Dutch, French, German and British. He was really surprised he could make friends so easily which is a great way to encourage him to develop future contacts abroad.

The pool is well positioned and has a great view of the chateau. There is no lifeguard around the pool with parents responsible for supervising their children. The pool is just about large enough on hot days when many wish to use it. Loungers were readily available and there did not seem to be any reserving with towels as there were sufficient around the pools edge.

We enjoyed the walk to Saumur which some found too far but we took the opportunity to enjoy the views over the river and felt it an easy walk. The advantage of the site being situated away from the town is that you are not aware of the noise associated from an urban location yet we were ideally positioned to enjoy views back towards the town.

The toilets and showers were always clean and we never experienced any problems.

A great site, great location, clean, and with helpful staff. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a well laid out campsite with all the facilities you could need whether you're in a caravan, tent or one of the many chalets that dot the site. Situated at the end of the island that splits the fabulous Loire in half as it winds its way through the town, the site is really quiet and peaceful. That said we were kept awake during one of our nights by noisy children, who were left to run riot by their parents until the small hours. Luckily they were only there for one night and the rest of our stay way peaceful except for the birds and the frogs on the mud flats. The swimming pool was clean and family friendly, though we only dangled our legs, and overlooks the chateau high on the opposite bank.
You can order bread and croissants from the reception, which were some of the nicest we had during our trip to France.
Saumur town centre is about a 20 minute walk and well worth the effort. Place St Pierre was particularly pleasant with a good selection of bars and bistros including a pop up bar serving locally produced cuvée for three or four euros a glass. Overall a great place to visit and I upset we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This site is well situated and has many good points. We found the shower blocks to be clean and well looked after. The pitches were not so well looked after with long grass and mole hills. The pool and view if the chateau from it were real plus points but we were there in beautiful weather and the pool was well used yet the bar did not open until 4pm in the afternoon. I used the bar once and refused to return you were ignored by the staff and generally made to feel a bit if a nuisance - given there was nowhere else on site to even buy an ice cream I suspect this would be a problem for young families. Staff at reception were pleasant and daily delivery of bread worked well. Information provided was not great and you had to find out a lot for yourself!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week in early July in a rented mobile home with terrace as a couple with a small child. We had a fantastic time here and would really recommend, especially for families. Flowers took over this site fairly recently and have obviously made massive investment in the site. It is really well landscaped and attractive. There is lots of room or kids to run about and several play areas, a bouncy castle and sports facilities. Loads of bunnies and birds and a really nice relaxed atmosphere. The pool is well maintained and swimming with a view of a huge Chateau on the riverbank opposite you is just 'wow'. There is also a paddling pool and a relaxation pool for adults.

We rented a mobile home and it was clean, comfortable and attractive. The staff were absolutely fantastic, friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. We also felt secure and safe, the manager was constantly doing rounds to make sure everything was okay. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and would go out of their way to make your trip more enjoyable and comfortable.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 24m mobil home with terrace which was very good and had a view of the chateau and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We chose to upgrade ourselves a little this year from the simple tent and we took a 4 four berth cabin ...ashamedly only for the two of us. we were positioned at the end of the campsite between the pool and the river, with a direct view of the Chateaux from the decking outside the cabin itself. it was perfect!

If you have a camper van the pitches tend to be very dusty due to the dry weather and the camping pitches are really only for overnight cyclists. We didnt sample the delights of the toilet block as we had our own but judging by the cleaning staff they didnt seem to bad.

We wondered at the amount of people likely to be going past us to the pool but we needn't have worried it is peaceful despite the number of children on the site. The pool is great to cool off and isnt freezing cold and there's plenty for the kids to do including an end of week show!

We found the two young girls at the desk very friendly. If you need trips out they can get them discounted especially for trips to the wine producers and also if you need to know whats on!

The cabins themselves are modern and clean, a little cramped perhaps for four but they can get incredibly hot if the windows are closed when you go out. We tended to put the valubles in the car and leave the windows open during the day which helped. You could bring an electric fan but that would depend on your luggage limits.

The coffee maker is a filter type so if you like a cafetiare like us bring your own. You can order bread and croisants on site but it is a little pricey when compared to the supermarche. Dont forget your sheets pillow cases, tea towels as they aren't provided. A spare loo roll will help too!! Also you need to make sure that you clean up before you leave.

A word of warning as it is near a river the midges are out and when night falls they are definitely biting!!!.. so bring your citronella candles and your bite cream with you.

Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping de l'Ile d'Offard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de l'Ile d'Offard

Address: Rue de Verden, 49400 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping de l'Ile d'Offard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.