We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouche a Oreille Saumur

Le Bouche a Oreille Saumur
76 Avenue Du General De Gaulle, 49400 Saumur, France
+33 2 41 38 51 59
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 95 Restaurants in Saumur
Price range: $13 - $28
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Welcome - homely
Ambience - perfect French
Food- superb
Our host - lovely & bubbly. The chef is a lucky man
We will return
The Gallois

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lucky find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Adagio, virtually next door, having arrived late & not wishing a route march into town, this restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. Unassuming, friendly & with an interesting menu, we were made to feel most welcome & were charmed by the husband & wife team. Exceptional value for money, (starting at 3 courses for 13 Euros), plus superb service and quality of food, I, who can moan for England, have no reservation in recommending this place to anyone and will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had one night to eat away from the hotel and picked this one as it was only a few miutes walk away and had a typical French menu. We were greeted by Sylvie who looked after us very well, speaking fairly good english to our moderate French.
The red check tablecloths and soft background music (Frank Sinatra) set the scene just right for us. Our main course was Boeuf Bourguignon which was very good accompanied by Saumur wine. avery enjoyable meal at a resonable price, served well by Sylvie. Would go there again if in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on recent Tripadvisor reviews. The host was congenial enough, but spoke limited English to explain the various dishes. The most disappointing part was that while our food was a good value and a good preparation, the escargot entreé was cold and so was the fish main course. I would not eat here again. I am sure there are better choices regardless of the language barrier.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a very friendly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This restaurant is next to the Best Western Adagio Hotel, both just across the bridge from the centre of Saumur. The owner speaks a little English and is a bubbly character who makes you fell very welcome. There is a fixed menu or a la cart with a good selection of meat and fish dishes all at reasonable prices.
The restaurant was full but fortunately we had reserved a table during the day for that evening. The customers were mostly local and everyone seemed to know the owner personally and gave the impression that its popular. Our meal arrived at the right time and we enjoyed every bit and would highly recommend this restaurant for its food, ambiance, hospitality and closeness to the hotel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouche a Oreille Saumur also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Le Bouche a Oreille Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouche a Oreille Saumur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.