We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, well run, excellent wi-fi, secure parking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logis Le Chai de la Paleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Logis Le Chai de la Paleine to your Saves list
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 place Jules Raimbault | Le Puy Notre Dame, 49260 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good, well run, excellent wi-fi, secure parking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I recently spent three nights at La Chai de La Paleine. The welcome was friendly, the bed comfortable, the breakfast - bread, croissants, home-made jams, yoghurt etc. - good. I was intrigued by the tiny 3mx3m stargazer rooms in the gardens and by the roulotte (gipsy caravan) and might go back to try one or the other. The wi-fi connection was the best we'd experienced in France. Our usual experience of wi-fi in French hotels has been less than satisfactory. There are plenty of vineyards to visit all around and the hotel also has a shop selling wine and delicacies. No pool, unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapaleine, Propriétaire at Logis Le Chai de la Paleine, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Merci. Thanks and see you again ?
Caroline and Philippe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
96
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped over on the way to Calais as a family of 5 and had 2 rooms both excellent. Everyone was very friendly and even got up early so we could have breakfast before we left. The hotel has a great location for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are a family of 2 plus a 5&6 year old. We looked for a hotel with family rooms and a casual rural environment. This hotel delivers.
We were delighted with the place. It was not as pompous as a 4 or 5 star hotel but the service was good and all the basic facilities were on offer plus a few practical ones on top.
the place is also ideal for a stopover for people on the way from the north of europe to the south of europe.
They also have some curious alternative accommodation : 3 meter cubed cottages and a 4 bed coach on wheeels!
Pluspoints:
-large garden with a few tables and cheap easy loungers, sand box and trampoline for the kids
-roomy and clean rooms distributed in a large barn with a few communal kitchen facilities
-family rooms with 4 and 5 beds
-friendly owner/managers
-low cost breakfast
-free wifi
Negative points although not really a showstopper from our point of view:
-cost is above the average of rural hotel accommodation; we paid EUR155/night for our room incl. breakfast
-no swimming pool
-no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a great stopover when travelling from further South towards the ferry ports to the UK. We stayed here in July on the way to our holiday and again in August on our return, in fact I am writing the review from our lovely room and we are catching the ferry from Calais tomorrow.
You can find out most things about it from the website and the owners reply quickly to emails (even in broken French). We booked the Chardonnay family room both times and arrived about 6 on the first stop it was our first day in France and the children played in the huge garden on the trampoline, with the badminton and with the table tennis with chickens, sheep and geese plus a couple of lively kittens. We loved the honest fridge where you can pick up a great bottle of chilled Saumur (fizzy dry white that I really like) for 10 euros and soft drinks for the kids - you just sign against your room and pay in the morning. There is also a kitchen ( although the Chardonnay has one anyway). Anyway, as I say on the first stop we went into the local town (a ten minute walk) and ate at the only local restaurant (its fine and quite reasonable - we had mussels and the kids menu was good) as there is no restaurant at the hotel. This time we have cooked pasta in the mini kitchen that comes with the room partly because we wanted just to chill out and enjoy the surroundings which are great. Last time we really enjoyed breakfast eaten inside a wine barrel - as odd as it sounds. The breakfast was really good croissant, jams, fresh bread, fresh juice and coffee etc. Plenty of other bits (fresh melon, fruit, cheese yoghurts)as well.
Anyhow for all four of us including breakfast it was £100 and for children who are car sick its a great physical break and the freedom is really good the owners are non-obtrusive, helpful and the surroundings are really lovely. Highly recommended - the Chardonnay room with a double bed and 2 singles separated by a curtain with a kitchen is great.

Room Tip: Chardonnay if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel comes up under a search for Saumur but is a good 20min drive away.
It is a recent conversion from a vineyard and has been completed to a very high standard.The rooms are furnished in a fusion of contemporary/country style. We stayed for two nights and slept very well. The host is very enthusiastic and helpful and is rightfully proud of the accommodation he has created.Breakfasts were of good quality with the usual selection of breads, yoghurt's, meat ,cheeses cereals etc. The village has minimal amenities(we found one bistro,a bar that was closed and a small supermarket that was reasonably stocked) but the hotel does have a full kitchen if you fancy doing some self catering rather than travelling to a restaurant. If the village followed the hoteliers lead it could easily become a very pleasant tourist destination. Having said that, the hotel is well located for visiting local Chateaux,Saumur and the surrounding area (just don't expect it to be in walking distance). We would use this hotel again.
Don & Jacqui Nightingale

Room Tip: Don't think any of the rooms will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were travelling from London to the Lot- de Garonne region and wanted to berak up the journey. After extensive research on Tripadvisor we chose Le Chai de la Paleine and booked the Chardonnay room our 4 year old twins my wife and I as suggested by Phillipe when we 1st booked.

We received a very warm welcome on arrival and the room was perfect for our needs. The children really enjoyed playing in the wonderful grounds, the sandpit and trampoline were the favourites, and especially liked the opportunity to eat cherries directly from the tree.. They experinced theit 1st proper french meal at Le Bouchon Ponot and slept well as did we in the very comfortable beds.

On waking all they wanted to do was play in the garden and climb the viewing platform and we had to drag them into breakfast where we were treated to a breakfast which included home-made jams which were lovely. We then treated ouself to some of their own wines and walnuts in their little shop.

If you are a family looking to break up the journey to the South of France this is well worth a detour!

Room Tip: For a family room chose the Chardonnay - there is even a little kitchenette if you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for one night at this excellent bed & breakfast. The hosts were first class and very helpful recommending the only restaurant in the village for dinner - Le Bouchon Ponot - which again was very good. The room was clean and very nicely decorated, it was obvious that a lot of care and thought had gone into the renovation. The honesty kitchen was a very good idea. We will certainly stay again in the future en route from England to Spain and also dine at the local restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Logis Le Chai de la Paleine, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for message...See you again ?
Caroline and Philippe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis Le Chai de la Paleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Le Chai de la Paleine

Address: 10 place Jules Raimbault | Le Puy Notre Dame, 49260 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Le Chai de la Paleine 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Logis Le Chai de la Paleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis Le Chai de la Paleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.