We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could have stayed forever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De Verrieres

Save Saved
You added Chateau De Verrieres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau De Verrieres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Rue d'Alsace, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Saumur
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“I could have stayed forever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This review is long overdue. And it appears that others have found my secret hiding place in the Loire Valley -- good business for the wonderful hosts of Chateau De Verrieres in Saumur. They open their fabulous home to us because they have a dream... a dream of living on a manor estate and owning a bed & breakfast. Opulent but not pretentious. Welcoming in a way that can only mean you are on holiday in the heart of France. Our rooms each had a different design and suited us perfectly. We even had air conditioning on a hot French evening. The photos I have cannot do justice to the manor, which is just perfect perfect perfect. Too bad Trip Advisor categorizes the listing outside of the normal Loire Valley listings. It was on the way to Amboise and all the river castles..

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
174
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I will never forget our stay; it was stunning in every way. It wasn't cheap but we definitely got what we paid for. Our room was stunning (the 'romantic' room) and spotless; the hotel relaxed and welcoming (gentle classical music in the communal areas); the service informal, hospitable, friendly and there when you needed it; the breakfast was simple, fresh and plentiful and the swimming pool just topped it off. I'd love to go again and would whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone who wants a treat. Don’t be put off by not being able to lock your doors (you can when you are in the room) as it is perfectly safe and there are deposit boxes in the rooms if you want one.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Chateau de Verrieres is a beautiful small chateau in large gardens a few blocks from the centre of Saumur. The rooms are elegantly but comfortably decorated but the real reason to stay here is the hosts. Never have I found such charming, hospitable people who will do anything to help their guests. They have the perfect balance of not being intrusive but being there whenever you need restaurant recommendations or bookings or advice on attractions in the area. They speak perfect English and are very knowledgeable about anything you might be interested in, prepared to lend you books and guides or advise you of sales in the local shops or the best chateaux to see or exhibitions to attend. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Loire Valley. It's a wonderful base from which to explore the region.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We received a wonderful welcome from the most friendly, charming and helpful of hosts. Their hotel is set in secluded, private grounds just an easy 10 minute walk from the town centre. The decor and ambience are classical and tastefully executed to the highest standard. Altogether, we found it a magical experience, thoroughly deserving of number 1 status.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at this incredible establishment in late March. It is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The owners speak perfect English and will do anything to make your stay perfect. All the rooms are spacious and are decorated to the max. Fabric on the walls, beautiful antiques, modern bathrooms, etc. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. I do not know what anyone could want that this place does not provide. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when in this area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This 19th century mansion renovated by the owners into a small hotel was one of the highlights of our trip through the Loire Valley. The original style was fully preserved through the renovation so the hotel is absolutely beatiful. The owners instantly made us feel welcome and provided the personal touch that you won't find at larger hotels. We were upgraded to a large suite on the 2nd floor with a beautiful canopy bed, another comfortable bed for our teenage daughter, and two bathroms. We got a tour of the other rooms that were not occupied, all furnished and finished differently so each stay would be unique. There is also a park behind the house, very nice for a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

This hotel was amazing. My girlfriend bought me a stay here for my birthday and it is easily the best hotel I've ever stayed in. WE had a choice of room and both were incredible. The room we chose was enormous and had immactuale decor and fittings. There was a separate shower room and bathroom and both were very opulent. Shame there was no cooked breakfast and you had to pay for the continental breakfast, although it was very nice. There was a lovely big garden you could walk around a friendly dog called Uno!

  • Liked — Room decor
  • Disliked — No cooked breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Address: 53 Rue d'Alsace, 49400 Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
#2 Family Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau De Verrieres 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrieres is an elegant chateau, built in 1895 to host balls and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School.It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with an heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrieres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De Verrieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.