We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Belle Epoque Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De Verrieres

Save Saved
You added Chateau De Verrieres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau De Verrieres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Rue d'Alsace, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Saumur
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Belle Epoque Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 6 friends and our host encouraged us to make the chateau our home while there, which we did. Each room is beautifully decorated and appointed, the beds comfortable, and the views serene. We had our windows open; I don't know if there was AC. We celebrated (quietly) in the main sitting area, used the game room in the dungeon one evening, visited with our host and walked the beautiful lawn. The breakfast had many offerings. The architecture is very interesting and our host shared the history of the chateau with us. The bellman waited on us with many courtesies during our stay. Thank you to our host for a welcoming stay, and to Travel Beyond Paris for placing us here.

Room Tip: It's a quiet part of town, so I think every room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
174
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau De Verrieres for only one night on our honeymoon while touring the Loire Valley in early October 2013. This was by far our favorite stay while in France and could only be matched if we had slept at Versailles! The property is absolutely stunning and has been restored to near museum quality. The owners treated us like family giving us a tour of the first floor, grounds and access to the original photos of the late 1800s construction. Our breakfast was fit for a king and queen and was served up with a warm greating by the family dog Uno who is quite the handsome gentlemen. The Chateau is a short walk to many small restaurants and numerous antique shops were we purchased our favorite treasures of the honeymoon. The hotel and town are spectaculor but the welcome and hospitality we received from the owners and Uno was off the charts. In our humble opinion it is worth the trip to Samur just to stay at this hotel!!!

Room Tip: We looked at everyroom during our tour and they are all perfect, enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We made a last-minute travel change, and decided to stay in Saumur for a night. (The Loire Valley proved to be larger than we imagined, and we were driving too much.)

Chateau De Verrieres was the perfect property, well-situated near the town center, but wrapped in it's own walls and garden that made it feel secluded. The owners have exquisite taste that's reflected in the house, it's decor and the artwork. They were also generous with their time, providing suggestions and advice on the area. The best of those suggestions was an unassuming restaurant right around the corner "L'Escargot". It was one of the best meals we had in France.

I wish we could have stayed longer. This is a charming place. It's also worth noting that the website has links to other Chateaus owned by their family. We didn't see any of those, but I imagine they must be nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a nice place to stay at. With nice décor, grounds, settings, nicely decorated with old antiques, lovely old wood smell. It was nice and hot when I was there and there being a swimming pool was a fabulous bonus. Not that far from the centre of town (some have complained that it is far out of town but it is just a 10/15 minute walk, nothing strenuous). The only thing to state, is that like other reviewers have mentioned, it is on the expensive side for what you are receiving. A gin and tonic was 8 euros - quite high, more like London prices!! I forwent the breakfast due to the price so I can't comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in the suite here and had a lovely stay. The hosts were a delight. Location very good. All of our needs were met. The suite is large and modern with a Japanese theme-a pleasant change. Bright sunny room with loads of windows and a great view of the Samur Châteaux. Easy walk to town center where there are many restaurants and cafes. Easy access in and out of Samur and environs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband had the good fortune to stay at Chateau de Verrieres just before we met some 7 years ago. He has always raved about how wonderful it was and how much he wanted us to visit together. We had that chance recently, and appropriately stayed in the Romantique room. It was indeed wonderful in every way - and after 2 nights, I found it difficult to leave! Thierry and Yolaine have restored this magnificent building, along with the beautiful grounds in which it sits, with much love and care. They are the most gracious hosts and could not be more welcoming (and Uno, the dog, is my new best friend). We fully endorse all the other 5***** reviews and can only say that Chateau de Verrieres should be at the top of the list for accommodation in the Saumur region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had two excellent nights in this beautiful house. We agree with other reviews. Rooms are quite exceptional and complete in terms of facilities and comfort if, perhaps, a little overpriced. Breakfast did not match up, too basic with many missing items, eg: fruit, ham, cheese, yoghurt. Also, what is it that requires an additional 17 Euro pp charge for 'continental' breakfast plus a further charge for a cooked breakfast? The room charge at 220+ Euros per night is easily enough to include breakfast of any dimension. Having had breakfast on our first morning we chose to miss it on the second. This should not have been a consideration for this standard of establishment. Young staff left in charge were very willing and helpful, pleasant and polite, if somewhat inexperienced for accommodation of this standard.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful, everyone should be pleased with whatever room is available. On our experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Address: 53 Rue d'Alsace, 49400 Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#2 Family Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau De Verrieres 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrieres is an elegant chateau, built in 1895 to host balls and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School.It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with an heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrieres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De Verrieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.