We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Degustation in Saumur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ackerman

Ackerman
19, rue Leopold Palustre | Saint-Hilaire Saint-Florent, 49400 Saumur, France
+33 2 41 53 03 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourisitc visits of Ackerman’s cellars in Saumur and tasting.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Degustation in Saumur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Friendly staff who were happy to welcome us even at the end of their working day. Interesting route through the caves but visitors must be aware that the manufacture of wine no longer occurs here. Great art installation which was worth seeing. Wine tasting was good and purchases were of a reasonable price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“run of the mill for area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

another run of the mill wine house that just doesnt jump of the page, good selection of wines, once you have seen one cave you have seen them all

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I dropped into Ackerman to buy some wine to day and left several hundred euro poorer. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful at pairing their produce with one's tastes.

While the tasting bar does tend to get busy with tourists on the hunt for free samples, it does not get in the way of the staff's helpfulness or willingness to educate.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“if you have some free time, worth a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

They show you the cellar with some show inside, but nothing really special. It just shows the wine and champagne making, and a little bit of art. It is good, you not just forced to purchase or taste immediately. Do not forget to take some warm clothes with you, as it is cold like a cellar.
Finally you got the chance of tasting some wines, but they were amateur about it. They forgot to tell anything about what we were tasting, they were busy with something else. We should remind them several times, that we wanted something else.
We also shopped, they also forgot about us, despite we purchased around 15 bottles (it is not that much, but I would expect much more willingness from them to serve the customers).
Otherwise they were helpful.
Price of the wines/champagne were ok, I would not say cheap or expensive.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“sparkling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

prices for the ackerman sparkling wine are cheaper at leclerc in town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ackerman also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Ackerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ackerman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.