We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint-Pierre

Save Saved
You added Hotel Saint-Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 haute saint pierre, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Saumur
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late in the evening in Saumur with family (3 children) and without a reservation. We got a very helpful hand by the owner who set us up in a room with an extra bed to make room for all of us. Room and hotel in general very clean and tidy. If you want stay in the centre this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    46
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked at last minute. Not cheap but worth every €
Very well appointed hotel
Excellent service
Unusual water feature in the breakfast room
Let our two little dogs sit in bar
Super stop over on our way down south
Will visit again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in late May. It was my favorite hotel of our whole trip through France! The building dates back centuries and has been lovingly refurbished over the past 20 years by the owner. Great care is taken to keep everything up to date and fresh. The lounge rooms, bar area and breakfast room are extremely comfortable with lovely decor. Our room was fantastic! We had reserved a Chambre Prestige, and were upgraded to a suite which was very spacious and well outfitted with everything one could want. The decor is charming with hardwood floors and beautiful wallpaper. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very quiet.

There is a modern elevator, so getting luggage to the room is a breeze. We had requested parking when we made the reservation and were provided with a very secure spot in a private parking area-- there are additional parking spaces in a small lot.

Breakfast was very good; lots of choices and excellent quality.

The hotel location is a very short walk from several good restaurants and a slightly longer walk to the Chateau. Saumur is a great location for touring the Loire valley-- not far from Villandry (amazing gardens!) and Chenenceau, very near many wineries and troglodyte dwellings-- ancient and modern. I wish we had spent an additonal night here.

Last, but certainly not least, the owner is extremely warm, helpful and knowledable. He-- and the rest of his family-- work long hours to keep the hotel in great shape and to make guests happy. Yet, he graciously took time to show us photos of the hotel in its early days and share it's history with us. He was also spot-on in recommending which of the local sites are worth visiting.

If you're planning to stay around Saumur, stay here!

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are lovely, but splurge on the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hspsaumur, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Pierre, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in June. It was a pleasure to meet you, and to share our passion for this fabulous city we love dearly. It was a delight to exchange our thoughts and experiences.

We were delighted that you and your wife found a consistent sincere and natural warmth throughout the Hotel. This is by far the most important objective that we have daily, to show that genuine interest in going beyond what is normally expected.

I was so pleased to read that you were able to enjoy one of our unique and luminous junior suite.

We hope to see you back soon at your Saumur home, Very sincerely,

Once again, our many thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Took abit of finding, but it was worth it. Very helpful owner, lovely rooms, in old part of town.Served fevertree tonic with our g&t so that says it all !! Breakfast was good, in fact all in all a faultless stay which I enjoyed. For exploring the town it's location must take some beating with all the sights within a short walk. ( The castle is a short walk uphill !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hspsaumur, Gérant at Hotel Saint-Pierre, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your stay and feedback. Your comments are very valuable as they enable us to improve our standards and provide better services to our guests. We are happy to read that you had a great stay in Aix-en-Provence. We hope to see you again - maybe this summer to enjoy our new terrace !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at this lovely hotel in the centre of Saumur for nearly 3 years and have never been disappointed. You are made to feel at home the moment you walk through the door and the decoration throughout is tasteful, characterful, full of French charm and finished to a very high standard. There is a cosy bar if needed and the breakfasts are perfect. The location is absolutely ideal too being only a minute's walk from the town centre and yet it is one of the quietest hotels you could wish for. All in all an excellent choice both for a holiday or if you are travelling through Saumur en route to the north or south. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and it is always an enjoyable experience. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds exeptionally comfortable. We always receive a very warm welcome.
I don't understand the comments about breakfast, which is quirky but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, very well decorated in the lobby, beautiful staircase but unfortunatly was disappointed by the room, which I found dull & a bit gloomy.
Considering the beautiful photos on their website of the type of room I booked, I was expecting alot better. The bathroom wasn't great, the bathroom fixtures could do with being changed as they came off the wall !.
As for the service I'd say there wasn't any, we weren't even shown to our room on arrival. We didn't take breakfast & I was told that the hotel was full when I wished to enquire about changing rooms & saw the check in book on departure .... It was empty.
Had to leave the room in the morning because in the room we didn't have any milk & one cup for two saucers.
I also had some trouble finding a plug next to a mirror for my hair dryer, had to unplug the mini fridge.
Will not return

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hspsaumur, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Pierre, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Madam, Sir
Thank you for taking the time to leave a message on tripadvisor. We pay particular attention to the reception of guest in our hotel and your comments have retained our attention.
The accessories in the bathrooms are good and the rooms are renovated regularly.
Your feelings about the breakfast is too vague to help us understand your dissatisfaction, may be you did not notice that it was a service and not a buffet table. Regarding the pot of milk, it would be necessary to ask the person who was in the service. The products used are fresh, and we offer as stated in the room free room service for hot drinks. It would have been better to read the instructions in the room book. Each bathroom is equipped with electrical plugs (international), it is unnecessary to remove the minibar. I do not understand that you did not found it!
Our reception staff has also all the skills and professionalism.
(For which the hotel is full,) it is surprising that you have access to the reservation book remains confidential.
You could share all these inconveniences directly on the day of arrival and departure? We attach great importance as the first line of your comments and thank you for the comment you made on the decoration of our hotel.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Saint-Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Pierre

Address: 8 haute saint pierre, 49400 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint-Pierre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sophisticated XVth and XVIIth century setting, this establishment situated in the same axis as the Castle, saw centuries of history and knew how to upkeep its character, style, and soul. The prestige winding within the spiral staircase, is also present in the highrise fireplaces in Tuffeau, and the massive exposed beams. Here luxury is set off serenely in a well-kept decor, textiles and fabrics of exception, attractive mosaics in the bathrooms. The Hotel Saint Pierre conjugates tradition, comfort and the latest in modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint-Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Pierre
Saint Pierre Hotel Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint-Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.