We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for touring the vinyards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Adagio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Adagio to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Adagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 ave du general de gaulle, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Saumur
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent base for touring the vinyards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wine club stayed at the Adagio for four nights while we toured the local vinyards, chateaux etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and coped with the 20+ of us with good grace and humour, especially when we had a jolly nightcap in the bar at the end of the evening! Room and beds comfortable and quiet, smart bathroom, good views from our top floor room; very good breakfast and coffee (no evening restaurant though, but eating out locally is no problem). Peaceful and pleasant, just a short walk over the bridge (with wonderful views of the town and chateau) to the main town with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Happy to recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are sharing, room 305 on the top floor is a bit more roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    83
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
76
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
620 helpful votes 620 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hello again Folks,

Please find our fair and independent review of the Best Western Adagio, Saumur. From two forty somethings.

We arrived on Sunday 19th June, 2011. We found the hotel with no trouble and enjoyed free off street parking directly outside its front doors.

The hotel is a little drive over the bridge, going away from the main town and its chateau.

We were welcomed by a very polite and welcoming lady on reception, who gave us a map and highlighted the hotels location and places to eat and drink in the town.

We stayed in room 211 and it was absolutely fine. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Not bad value for the money really. The bathroom was of recent refurbishment and that can be said of the corridors too.

Locally, there was a relatively popular bar more or less opposite and further down the road, 150 yards or so towards the main town, on the same side as the hotel, was a very popular Chinese restaurant that many locals were dining in. So if you arrive late, this could be a wise dining choice ? Otherwise, there was very little near to the hotel.

We ventured into town which was a leisurely 10 minute stroll and enjoyed a few beers in a few different locations. The atmosphere was quaint, relaxing and somewhat sophisticated I thought. Very nice indeed. A great way to start our mini tour of Europe.

We eventually ended up dining in Le Maharaja Indian restaurant in town. It did not look too appealing from the outside, but as a couple were already seated, we decided to go for it.

The restaurant was spotless inside, as was the waiter, but on the outside if you get my drift. My Wife opted for a Chicken Tikka Massala and I the Chicken madras. After 5 minutes the food arrived. I could not here any sizzling, banging, or shouting from the kitchen, so suspect it was a ding ding meal ( microwave ).

The meals were very similar in colour, taste, texture and heat and I therefore suspect both were the same curry. The bill came to 48 euros for two curries, two rice and four small bottles of Kingfisher Indian beer, which we thought very expensive.

So depending on your craving for such food, you may or may not opt to dine here?

Overall we were pleased with the hotel and would return / recommend. Saumur itself was charming, but we would not stay there longer than a night or two.

We hope you all find this report of some help.

Until next time

Gary

Improving vacation…

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Located 500 metres from Saumur railway station the Best Western Adagio provided a comfortable base for our exploration of this interesting town. Rooms are relatively small but ours was clean and had a comfortable bed. One definite bonus was free wi-fi.

The hotel is situated on a largish island betweent the railway side and the main town on Saumur. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre.

Although the selection at breakfast was somewhat limited the quality was very good - particularly the coffee.

Overall we enjoyed a very pleasant stay and felt we received good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights - our room was depressing with the dark walls and furniture and a rather garish thin yellow curtain. Our handwash supplid for the showering was not checked daily and ran out. The bathroom floor was not swept as hairs remained. The work top not cleaned from day one as the marks remained from our coffee cups.. The mini bar was not topped up after use on first day. Little milk/tea bags supplied - only enough for one cup each (although we did get if asked for). 2 out of 6 lights did not work.
On the few occasions we did speak to reception they came across as unhelpful.
Had better says at other hotels.
The location is good, still heard the road noise despite a form of double glazing.
Very hard and uncomfortable beds - back ache every morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Checked in last minute after disastrous 1 hour stay at La Croix Blanche. Dorothy on reception was lovely, very helpful and charming. We stayed in a room with huge bed, lovely furnishings, air con and double bathroom sinks! Secure underground parking was a bonus. Had dinner at Le Trianon (highlight) and left next day rested and chilled. Thank your for a lovely (if short) stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The Adagio is situated on Isle Offard which is a small island in the river Loire in the center of Saumur.

We stayed in an Elegance room which was a good size and well equiped, with a north eastern view over the river. At this time of year the hotels offer BOGOF's and a two night stay came to 150 euro with breakfast.

Breakfast was typical continental but everything was fresh with good coffee and overlooking the Loire with the sun rising - good start to the day.

The hotel has secure parking 7 euor per night, however there appears to be plenty of on-street parking at this time of year.

There is a good choice of restaurants which are a short walk over the bridge into the town about 60 to 70 euro for two with wine.

Our chateau itinery was Saumur, Chinon, Usse, Azzay Le Rideau, and Villandry, all within a short car drive from Saumur.

We also ventured into and quickly out of Tours - not much to see and very heavy traffic.

Over all a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Whilst only stayed the one night we did retuen to Saumur a week later and it was booked out - Lovely hotel - Pleasant staff - good breakfast
Highly recommended and would stay again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Adagio

Address: 94 ave du general de gaulle, 49400 Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saumur
#7 Family Hotel in Saumur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Adagio 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated, the hotel has thirty-eight warmly welcoming guest rooms, two of them suitable for guests with reduced mobility. All the rooms are insulated for sound and air conditioned, are either smoking or non smoking, and most of the rooms have a view over the Loire. Wi-fi connection available free in the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Adagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saumur
Saumur Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Adagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.