We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars five star feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne D'anjou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anne D'anjou to your Saves list
Anne D'anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 quai Mayaud, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Saumur
Chesterfield.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Four stars five star feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this hotel whilst touring the area. There is very little I can say about it other than it was perfect. We were greeted by friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was in the courtyard only yards from the comfortable chairs and a tables to relax in outdoors. This hotel has its own private car park.

The accommodation was fine and what seems to becoming a rarity these days there was a bed with a sheet and blanket not those confounded duvets so convenient for hotel housekeeping but guaranteed to provide a poor night's sleep in hot weather. Bathroom had only a shower which was all very modern and well thought out.

The restaurant is excellent and the service is what one would expect from management so passionate about food. The hotel is just a five to ten minutes stroll to the town centre where we found the locals also friendly and helpful. Yes we think this hotel and the people of Saumur well worth a visit and at least on overnight stay..

It has no swimming pool or fitness centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    27
    9
    0
See reviews for
10
60
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinsville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is located a few blocks from the town center. A very good location. However the main road goes by the front of the hotel and is very noisy most of the night. so request a room in the back looking at the castle. There is no air conditioning so be prepared for that. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a typical hotel buffet for the area. Room was very clean and a decent size. Ask for a fan, they are available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was excellent value for money and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. We were able to park our car opposite the hotel in full view of our room and free of charge. The first room we were shown was very claustrophobic, cramped and had a restricted view over the rear of the hotel. We asked to be shown an alternative and found ourselves in a much bigger and better appointed room with good light and room to move. Large windows overlooked the Loire and provided plenty of fresh river air during the night which, on the very comfortable bed, gave us two excellent nights sleep. There were good restaurants within easy walking distance, in the centre of Saumur. The Staff gave us excellent information about restaurants, wineries and chateaux, all of which we took and thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel provided a good base to visit the Chateau Breze, the troglodyte caves housing the degustation for Chateau Filiatrou and the memorable Cadre Noir Equitation School.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Loire, NOT the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived at this hotel after a 8 hour bike ride, with much anticipation as it was overlooked by the Chateau de Saumur and on the edge of the Loire. The ladies who received us and went to fetch water to clean our bikes made an amazing impression. The large room, with Velux windows was airless, with old, tired and slightly scruffy furniture and on the third floor.

Room Tip: Do book a table at the brilliant restaurant attached to the hotel: Les Ménestrels. It offers innova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good location. lovely garden to sit out and have a drink. Lobby and staircase are beautiful. Our room looking a bit tired but a very good bathroom. Fantastic view over the river and from the garden of the Chateaux.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Four stars at a very good price for a small city in France, Breakfast more than usual (crescent roll, juice and coffee) we had yogurt, choice of cereals, ham, cheese, huge basket of breads, fresh and toasted, a dozen jams and jellies, and eggs to boil, with a boiler machine, self service, etc.
New stainless steel elevator in an antique building that was a life saver! Only about 22 rooms, but really very nice, very polite and or professional staff, serious of purpose, determined to please us. We three were walked to our two rooms and asked twice if we were happy with them or if we would like to see others, they were super clean, in order and not at all used looking or worn or shabby in any way. All windows opened wide, ceiling height on the first level upstairs of bedrooms was 14 feet near the windows and those windows went to the ceiling. Newly decorated rooms, peace and quiet, even the street out front on the river was hardly busy and we were there for a Sunday and a Monday morning until about eleven AM. Wonderful views front and back, best restaurant in the city is on the hotel grounds (in the garden) but closed on Sunday as is the way in France, Monday is another day of closed shops and restaurants, be ready for this).
But the price for this level of hotel was very good, you need to know that the cost in Europe and certainly France and the UK is astronomical for everything, not to mention the exchange rate for the dollar is bad! Folks from the UK must NOT expect tea trays and tea making supplies (nor coffee for Americans) in the room. This is not the custom here, and again, our Continental breakfast is not what we expect so the one offered here was better than expected, and yes, breakfast costs plenty over here unless you go to a supermarket and buy your supplies, or visit a cafe and try one there. We booked better than the least expensive rooms, the next step up in price,but not the fancy rooms.

Room Tip: On hot summer days, the very sunny (afternoon) rooms in the East wing could become ovens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAA, Manager at Anne D'anjou, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for your kind review regarding for your recent stay at Anne d’Anjou in Saumur.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and specially for the staff, they will be so happy to hear about it.
We'll be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Four stars at a very good price for a small city in France, Breakfast more than usual (crescent roll, juice and coffee) we had yogurt, choice of cereals, ham, cheese, huge basket of breads, fresh and toasted, a dozen jams and jellies, and eggs to boil, with a boiler machine, self service, etc.
New stainless steel elevator in an antique building that was a life saver! Only about 22 rooms, but really very nice, very polite and or professional staff, serious of purpose, determined to please us. We three were walked to our two rooms and asked twice if we were happy with them or if we would like to see others, they were super clean, in order and not at all used looking or worn or shabby in any way. All windows opened wide, ceiling height on the first level upstairs of bedrooms was 14 feet near the windows and those windows went to the ceiling. Newly decorated rooms, peace and quiet, even the street out front on the river was hardly busy and we were there for a Sunday and a Monday morning until about eleven AM. Wonderful views front and back, best restaurant in the city is on the hotel grounds (in the garden) but closed on Sunday as is the way in France, Monday is another day of closed shops and restaurants, be ready for this).
But the price for this level of hotel was very good, you need to know that the cost in Europe and certainly France and the UK is astronomical for everything, not to mention the exchange rate for the dollar is bad! Folks from the UK must NOT expect tea trays and tea making supplies (nor coffee for Americans) in the room. This is not the custom here, and again, our Continental breakfast is not what we expect so the one offered here was better than expected, and yes, breakfast costs plenty over here unless you go to a supermarket and buy your supplies, or visit a cafe and try one there. We had better than the least expensive rooms, so this is all we know.

Room Tip: room 110 in the East wing was flooded with the afternoon sun, in summer this could be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anne D'anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne D'anjou

Address: 32 quai Mayaud, 49400 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anne D'anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine 18th century hotel is situated a stone's throw away from the city of Saumur, enjoying the opulent beauty of the River Loire running gracefully nearby. Listed façade, sumptuous staircase crowned by a trompe-l'oeil ceiling - all the prestigious hallmarks of the past have been preserved and enhanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anne D'anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne d`Anjou Hotel Saumur
Anne d Anjou Saumur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne D'anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.