We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caves Louis de Grenelle

Caves Louis de Grenelle
839 rue Marceau, 49415 Saumur, France
02 41 50 23 21
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated at 12m underground in the centre of Saumur, the Louis de Grenelle wine cellars have been producing, in the purest tradition, Cremant de Loire and Saumur Brut ever since 1859. In this former tufa quarry, you will discover the secrets of traditional wine-producing methods. After the guided tour there will be a commented wine-tasting session. You will also be able to discover wine in a wine-dedicated space.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really friendly informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We missed the tour, but the girls in the shop were really good about letting us taste anyway and told us all about how the sparkling wines are made. Had a really interesting half hour and came away with a case of very good value (& tasting) bubbles! We are normally red drinkers and so tasting so much fizz was a nice treat! Recommend even if only to taste. Didn't go back for the tour as not sure our toddler would have let us listen without a fuss, but it was VERY popular when we saw the group return! Should be noted there are no tours between 12-1.30.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment! We are happy to learn that you appreciated the wine tasting. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back here one day and to do the guided tour of our wine cellar!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A nice tour & tasting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I did like the wines here and the tour in the cave. I recommend that you stop here for a bit there was no charge for the tasting/tour. Dress warmly as it was very cold in the caves. We bought 2 bottles of sparkling wine to bring with us on our trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are glad that you liked your visit in our family house. It's true that we only ask for 2.5€ per person for a one hour tour and wine tasting session. We hope that you enjoyed your trip in Saumur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genneteil, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Repeat visits no hardship!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We've been here several times, including 'Boxing Day' 2011, when we had the place to ourselves but still with an English spoken tour guide. Each time we've enjoyed the visit even though we've been before with other visitors. We love the wine! A tour of the caves with an informative guide, usually available in English (phone ahead for an English spoken Tour if this is critical). A children's questionnaire makes it more interesting for youngsters and even when it gets to the wine tasting at the end the children are catered for.
There is a charge for the tour but it isn't expensive, after all they want you to buy the wines you've tasted!
Don't miss out on trying the fizzy Red wine, it is an acquired taste, excellent with dark chocolate and fruit based desserts. Being very close to the city centre, it is perfectly possible to 'do' this tour and one or two others all in one day. Don't miss it if you are in Saumur.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment. We always do the best to satisfy our visitors so it's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed the tour and the wines in our family house.
We will be delighted to welcome you again anytime.

Caves Louis de Grenelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Informative tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our guide was informative, interesting, and made the tour fun. We also enjoyed the tasting. They have a variety of sparkling wine styles, so there will be something for any taste.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your visit in our wine cellar.
Best regards
Caves Louis de Grenelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parcay Les Pins
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fizz, a visit underground and close to town for a meal afterwards!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We are regular customers of Louis de Grenelle as we love their fizz. The tour through the caves and learning about the processes to make their fizz, as well as the degustation at the end of the tour is well worth while. A recommendation much enjoyed by guests who stay with us too. Conveniently situated close to the town centre of Saumur makes it ideal to combine with a restaurant meal or tour of Saumur Chateau.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenelle49, Responsable relations clients at Caves Louis de Grenelle, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our family house with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that you appreciate our sparkling wines and we are glad that you recommend us to your guests.
It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back next time.

Caves Louis de Grenelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caves Louis de Grenelle also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Le Coudray-Macouard, Saumur
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Caves Louis de Grenelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caves Louis de Grenelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.