We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great food and worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Aromate

L'Aromate
42 Rue du Marechal leclerc, 49400 Saumur, France
+33 (0)241513145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 91 restaurants in Saumur
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Really great food and worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We tried this place on our second night. The lady at our B&B hadn't yet tried it but we found the food and wine very good and the service excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    48
    26
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

we eat at this popular restaurant, make sure you book! The food was of superb quality throughout, inventive, refined and above all delicious. could not fault it.

expensive wine list, we had the same wine in another restaurant for much less

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Everything perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What can I say - great quality and value for money.
We are at the end of a ten day French journey and this meal was one -if not the best.
Can't say better than that......oh yes and service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in Saumur for two nights and unfortunately almost everything was shut on the first night. After the previous reviews l'Aromate was our choice for the last night of our trip. Food was beautifully presented and very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant two mins walk from centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our absolute favourite restaurant in Saumur!!!! Our lunch today was delicious - seafood rillettes, pork tenderloin with the most amazing lentils and mushrooms, followed by poached pear with a raspberry foam....three courses for 18 Euros!!! If you love cooking, sit at Table 15 which is right next to the kitchen window and watch the experts at work. Our wine choice today was inspired...St Nicolas de Bourgueil Evenement 2009. Aromate staff are very welcoming and are well able to help me with my gluten free choices. Cant wait to go again!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aromate also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Turquant, Saumur
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire

Been to L'Aromate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Aromate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.