We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Aromate

L'Aromate
42 Rue du Marechal leclerc, 49400 Saumur, France
+33 (0)241513145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Saumur
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in Saumur for two nights and unfortunately almost everything was shut on the first night. After the previous reviews l'Aromate was our choice for the last night of our trip. Food was beautifully presented and very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant two mins walk from centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our absolute favourite restaurant in Saumur!!!! Our lunch today was delicious - seafood rillettes, pork tenderloin with the most amazing lentils and mushrooms, followed by poached pear with a raspberry foam....three courses for 18 Euros!!! If you love cooking, sit at Table 15 which is right next to the kitchen window and watch the experts at work. Our wine choice today was inspired...St Nicolas de Bourgueil Evenement 2009. Aromate staff are very welcoming and are well able to help me with my gluten free choices. Cant wait to go again!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Comfortable room. Pleasant and efficient service. Menu is on the chalk board and though limited and apparently unchanging, the food is delicious. Our half bottle of Bordeau red was the best on the trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Saumur, and our hotel recommended this restaurant, which was just a few minutes down the road. Very welcoming on arrival, just us and an American couple as it was early. None of us understood the menu as it was all in French, the waitress and the chef explained what everything was in detail. The meal was lovely, and the dessert of prune tart was superb. We left about 9.30 and the place was full.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of the owner of our hotel. As it was a Wednesday a lot of the other local restaurants were closed. We enjoyed our dining experience although we found the service a bit slow at times. The food was very well presented although we did find a lot of the flavours quite rich. There were only two staff serving a full restaurant which meant we were left waiting after each course The menu was only in French and as our French isn't as good as it could be we weren't entirely sure what we had ordered but did enjoy it when it came.
We found it good value with two 3 course meals with a bottle of wine (chateau de brezé) coming in at €70. Also when we asked about a flavour we could not identify in my husbands dessert the waiter kindly brought out the ingredient to
show us.
Overall a good dining experience with lovely food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aromate also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to L'Aromate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Aromate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.