We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage, Annie's House
The Cottage, Annie's House
The Cottage, Annie's House
Sitting room : dvds, books, games & info. on what to do in the Val de Loire
Well equipped kitchen
Annie's courtyard + entrance + parasol
Bedroom (photo 1)
Saumur
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
margaret7...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming facilties in peaceful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Sarah and Gerald are welcoming and helpful hosts but do not intrude. They provide a top quality house in their courtyard. Its furnishings and the gardens around it are beautiful. There's no commerce in the village but there's a boulangerie a short distance away and the supermarche is 8 km.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The choice of being able to sit outside in three different places.
Liked least: The shower curtain blowing in causing one to knock the water control trying to avoid it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
barkerthe...
aylesbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in idyllic small french village setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Annie's House is a beautiful and well appointed 'tuffeau' stone property in a small french village in a perfect location for visiting many places in the region. The house is very well decorated and the bed very comfortable with really good quality linen.

Gerald and Sarah-Jane (who is English) will do everything they possibly can to make sure your stay at Bellevue is a memorable one (for all the right reasons). Sarah-Jane keeps the property in first class condition and is extremely helpful and full of great advice without being in anyway intrusive.

The house as well as the other gite and owners own property are behind very secure remote control gates as most rural properties are in France. Sarah-Jane keeps the gardens looking fantastic which helps attract the local Hummingbird Hawk Moths! There are lots of little walks to do from the property past rows of well tended vines and fields of sunflowers.

There are of course the many chateaux in the area to see. Many of the smaller ones close for a long lunch such as the most local chateau of Montreuil-Bellay which is worth a visit as is the Creperie in the old town.

There are a lot of man made caves (troglos) in the area and Belluvue has its own which you can be shown around if you ask. Most were used for accommodation as well as for animals and wine making. The zoo at Doue is worth visiting - we would never usually go to a zoo in the UK but France does this sort of thing well and by clever design puts very little between you and the animals. The zoo is also set around a backdrop of numerous troglos. In June and July the roses and garden in Doue are free and very beautiful.

There is a SuperU supermarket not far from the property (about a 15min drive) which has everything you could reasonably need including a lot of the local wine. My husband doesn't drink so we did not do any of the wine tours or degustation but there are numerous opportunities to do so. If you really want to get 'immersed' in this then Bellvue is the ideal place to be as the owner Gerald runs tours (in English) which I am sure would be well worth going on.

I could go on extolling the virtues of the property and the local area but perhaps the best way to recommend it is that we will most certainly be back soon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts, beautiful property and excellent location
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dcbloomer
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gite - you need to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week at Annie's House in this stunning part of France and what a great week it was. If you want a nice, quiet, relaxing week you can't go too far wrong. It is very comfortable and has everything you need for a pleasant stay. Although it is in the grounds of the owner's home that is not a problem -you will not be disturbed. However if you do need anything which is not already in the property the owner will do her utmost to provide it.

Also a must is Bistrot Les Tontons in Saumur (25 mins drive) which is owned by Gerald (the husband of Sarah-Jane). Really good 'un-complicated' food and fine wine!

I would certainly recommend this lovely gite to anyone and will definitely be returning.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kathy C
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant, would love to stay there again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Right from our first contact with queries about the accommodation and the directions through to the greeting and helpfulness of the lovely Hostess, everything was better than we had hoped. The modern cottage and the surrounding village of Pouoncay was just great.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The modern self contained accommodation and friendly hostess.
Liked least: The bed.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jess C
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful, cosy cottage in a great location, and what wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by Sarah-Jane and Gerald. They got the balance just right between offering us tips and advice, and giving us space to explore and get on with our holiday.
Sarah-Jane is a beautiful hostess and she welcomed us the first night of our arrival with a drink in their home, which then turned in to several drinks in their home! We were spoilt! It also helped massively that being English herself, Sarah-Jane was able to give us some outstanding advice on where to go and when.
Gerald's wine knowledge is a great bonus to staying at Annie's House. I had wanted to boost my knowledge of French wine and I left having done just that.
The cottage itself is PERFECT for a couple and has everything you need, including an adapter, towels, a good dvd selection, good cooking facilities, and most importantly a wine bottle opener!
We would most certainly come back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The hosts, and the cosy feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Bathroom was downstairs (which couldn't be helped I know, but wasn't a major issue!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Susan_Sag...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A true experience of rural French living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our 4th year at La Bellevue and we are still enchanted by the rural nature of the setting, tranquility, peace and quiet. Sarah-Jane is a gracious and generous host and welcomes you on arrival so you feel instantly at home. She is always very forthcoming with help about things to do and see in the area. There are two gîtes on site both of which are totally restored to a tremendously high standard, well equipped and scrupulously clean. I could not recommend La Bellevue highly enough and will definitely be going back in 2014 for our 5th year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beautiful gîte.
Liked least: Nothing all good.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JosephBad...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Cottage in a picturesque setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a fantastic week at Annie's House in the beautiful Loire Valley. Sarah-Jane and Gerald were incredibly helpful during our stay (they even dug us up some incredible wines from the caves beneath the house).

If you want a peaceful break in a beautiful setting then Annie's House is for you. If you like wine too then all the better - highly recommend you do the Loire Valley Uncorked tour and tasting with Gerald. We had a great time.

Thanks for a great week.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$121
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Sarah-Jane B
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Feb 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing