We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offbeat, charming, quirky, welcoming B & B in the centre of Saumur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Patio Saumur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Patio Saumur to your Saves list
Le Patio Saumur
31 Quai Mayaud, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Saumur B&B and Inns
Cumeray a Gennes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Offbeat, charming, quirky, welcoming B & B in the centre of Saumur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We live 20 minutes from Saumur and decided to indulge ourselves in a night away after an excellent dinner at nearby restaurant le Gambetta. Having driven past Le Patio hundreds of times and thought it looked rather rice we booked la chambre Loire for the night. Located just a short walk away from the historic centre of Saumur we were able to relax, enjoy the wine and not worry about driving home afterwards.
What a find - our expectations were exceeded. A warm welcome awaited us as we were shown up the fabulous old stone staircase to our room - quirkily decorated and overlooking the river. There is a beautiful enclosed terrace where you can enjoy a glass of wine or have breakfast when the weather is warmer and a superb little wine bar which is available for use by residents. We enjoyed a glass or two after dinner - music playing, great atmosphere - the perfect end to a great night.
Breakfast the next day was simple but good with great coffee. We will definitely be recommending it to our friends and clients who are visiting Saumur. If you're looking for an authentic place to stay, well situated and with a warm welcome, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    31
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed this peaceful haven just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Saumur. Marie & Romain are lovely and made us very welcome as did Inesse and Oscar (the family pets!). Our 'room' - La Suite Verte, at the top of a spiral staircase off the back of the beautiful 'Patio' (the courtyard at the centre of Le Patio), was just as it looks on the website. Breakfast was juice, croissant & french bread with preserves, tea or coffee - basic but adequate. Parking is free but on the roadside - Le Patio does not have a car park. We visited the chateaux at Brézé (10 min drive, complete with underground Troglodyte village) and Villandry (incredible gardens, 40 min drive). Our only regret was that we hadn't time to stay longer! We will certainly stay at Le Patio again next time we visit the Loire.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, Northamptonshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Situated in the heart of historic Saumur, at the foot of the château, on the banks of the river Loire. Greeted by Romain Legrand, it was clear that he is a fabulous host, and the perfect person to take care of this enchanting property which is over 300 years old. Able to park for free directly opposite, it’s a fantastic location, easy to stroll out with bars and restaurants close by. We took a walk up to the château (it’s possible to drive up), just behind Le Patio, which is a must for both the views and the beauty of the building. Romain accompanied (with a huge amount of pride) up the most amazing original stone staircase to the Loire room on the top floor, with its terrific view over the water. We were woken by the most striking sunrise which flooded our room. The room was breathtaking, quirky, beautifully decorated and perfectly in keeping with its age which was the theme throughout the property. Breakfast was fine, ample and beautifully presented. Had we have been staying a little earlier in the year, we could have taken breakfast in the open courtyard, which is a fabulous setting. Regrettably, we only stayed one night, but we are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed here for only 2 nights but it was enough to make us want to stay for a month. Romain has a big smile and a lovely friendly welcome to his beautiful B&B. I loved the decor which is stylish, quirky and comfortable, our room was beautiful (White Room) and the atmosphere was timeless and peaceful. The inner courtyard is a great place to lounge with the cat on a cool summer night! Breakfast was simple but filling; we were so busy examining the fascinating props in the breakfast room that food was almost forgotten. Loved it; plan to return!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

It was a delight to spend 19 days in the charming comfortable and roomy Le Patio with its French provincal furniture and objects d'art. The Central patio courtyard garden was a pleasant spot to sit around and relax.
The hosts Marie & Romain were so help in planning our daily excursions and made us feel very much at home.
With their help we were able to appreciate the delights of the Loire Valley and experience country life and culture in France.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We found Le Patio was a charming and character filled property with a very friendly and pleasant host.The rooms were delightful and kept very much in character and we just loved our very wonky floor which had held up very well over the last 300 or so years. The room was spacious with interesting furnishings and just an overall very pleasant room to spend time in.
Glimpses of the castle through windows added to the joy of the stay and the little French lace shop nearby is not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this lovely chambre d' hôte during our stay in the Loire region. We were made feel very welcome and everything was done to make us very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Patio Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Patio Saumur

Address: 31 Quai Mayaud, 49400 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Patio Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Patio Saumur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.