We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Bouvet Ladubay

Save Saved
You added Chateau Bouvet Ladubay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Bouvet Ladubay
6 Av Georges Thoreau | Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, 49400 Saumur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Saumur B&B and Inns
guernsey channel islands
1 review
“amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This chateau was recommended by friends and wow they were exactly right with the review. Bruno was charming and very helpful with restaurants near by that we could walk to. We had a two bedroomed suite as we had my mother with us, both bedrooms were amazing as was the décor. Swimming pool was heated to a lovely temperature and my mother swam each day we were there. A most enjoyable 2 nights. If you are looking for something a bit different then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Bruno was a delight. It was fun to talk to him and see his chateau. He gave us a great recommendation for dinner and a winery tour. Our room at the front had a great view of the Saumur chateau lit at night. The chateau is not modernized and cleansed, but full of charm - and antiques.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Picked at random, but what a result. Amazing find. Bed and Breakfast in a living museum. Bruno the owner bought this place after leaving the banking rat race and seems to run it as a hobby whilst he collects antiques - which the place is full of. It's not a spotless marble edifice, it's a bit more shabby chic, but absolutely oozes style, and yes, all the rooms are mini-suites. Older kids fit in (12 plus) but perhaps a bit of care with smaller inquisitive ones - there's lots to smash. Book early - or else phone up and hope for a cancellation. And don't try to arrive before 4pm

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first ever B&B in 45 years gite-ing. Due to an unacceptable gite outside Loches we needed to make a swift exit, and by chance using iPad found this haven in Saumur. This gorgeous 'Belle Epoque' chateau has three large elegant double-bed en suites rooms (we saw them all), and two 2-bedroom double suites - which we took as a family. Our suite, at the front, had a red/gold Chinese style bedroom, and a vast white bedroom complete with gold jacuzzi bath and perfect round tower sitting area. Our son's suite had two double bedded rooms and lovely bathroom. Everything was immaculate.

Breakfast was standard continental - tea/coffee, juice, yoghout, bread, butter, jams, pain au chocolate and croissant, served as early or late as you wished. One day we didnt even leave, but stayed by the pool.

Bruno - the owner - is charming and advised us on restaurants. Good recommendations.

The heated pool - 28deg during our visit in early June - was spotless.

Do go there. We will!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful experience! My husband and I just returned from three nights at Chateau Bouvet Ludabay and we had an amazing stay. The rooms were more like suites. Our room, the Agathe room, named after Bruno's daughter, was not only elegant it was very functional. The ceiling are 5 meters high and we had French doors and windows that gave us the view of his beautiful grounds as well as his Solarium. We had a nice sitting room and a bath room with modern amenities, a towel,warmer and a tub that was Huge! I have a jacuzzi that fits two at home and this tub was twice that size....no kidding. So relaxing after a long day touring the area. Bruno was,as mentioned before, so very helpful,and spoke perfect English. I was in a hurry to get to Market on our first day and he took us in his car so we would get there in time.He was so helpful with places to go and made all of our dinner reservations in advance,at wonderful, reasonably priced restaurants. He also,arranged for cabs, and anything else we needed. Did I mention that breakfast comes with the room? Fresh croissants, fruit, juice and cafe cream with warm milk started our days in the Loire area. We like to,walk everywhere we visit, and right down the road were two wineries with sparkling wine that is France's best. Do not miss the winery Bouvet Ludabet, or Gratien- Meyer a little out of town. Fabulous sparkling wine for about 9 euro per bottle! Unbelievable ! We will definitely recommend this wonderful Chateau to anyone who is going to that area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent in the chateau 2 nights in August 2012 (took us a while to write a review :-) ). What a place and what a host!The chateau is beatifully decorated, there is a swimming pool on the premises, the rooms are big and spacious and the decorations beautiful. The owner, Bruno, is an amazing man: welcoming, helpful, great host. The children loved him at first sight. He helped us with restauranrs in the area, and gave us great recommendations about castles to visit. Loved our stay there. It was very hard to leave. Best place to be when touring the valley. Thank-you for everything, Sharon Almagor

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were very lucky to have Bruno as our host...he stayed until we found our way, even when we couldn't be reached. He made sure that we had all we needed and if the rooms to our liking. WOW, who couldn't like the rooms we had? They were fantastic and the Chateau was very beautiful. The next day Bruno was very gracious to show me around and tell me a little about the history of the Chateau. My son loved it also, we were the only two guests there and it was wonderful! We want to go back in the spring and spend more time here!

Room Tip: We had two rooms that joined, so it was perfect for my son & myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Bouvet Ladubay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bouvet Ladubay

Address: 6 Av Georges Thoreau | Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, 49400 Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by a well-known familly of wine producers in Saumur, the Chateau Bouvet-Ladubay with its magnificent conservatory and its three guest-rooms wil give you a taste of the magic of the Loire Valley. The Ecole Nationale d’Equitation, the Cadre Noir de Saumur, the vineyards and cellars are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Bouvet Ladubay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Bouvet Ladubay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.