We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"quirky"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sozo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sozo to your Saves list
Hotel Sozo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 rue Frederic Cailliaud, 44000 Nantes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Nantes
ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“"quirky"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed in hotel sozo recently having gotten it out of the michelin guide.we loved it!on arrival we were given a coffee and chilled out in the foyer/bar,which is bright with modern comfy easy chairs.the hotel used to be a church and has been redesigned very tastefully,its small,27 bedrooms,breakfast room a bit tight -so what- !good parking at the back€10.00 per night,breakfast . was very good,not enormous serving tables groaning with food,freshly sqeezed orange juice,boiled eggs,bacon,croussants etc.15.00€ per person.
our bedroom was heaven itself!certainly big enough for 2 people,v comfy bed,large tv ,towelling robes,free soft drinks,up a few steps was the bathroom area with a very nice bath,shower,handbasin and the toilet in a seperate room.only negative thought we have was that the lighting was a little subdued for reading,c,est tout!the staff were some of the nicest and most helpful we have come across and hopefully they will stay this way.

Room Tip: room 201!this is in the dome of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    59
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
166
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

While this establishment is superficially impressive, especially as an architecture and design showpiece, it leaves a lot to be desired as a hotel.
There are many, many quality issues needing urgent attention, the most serious of which are: some rooms are simply too small and poorly laid out; ventilation is poor to the point of discomfort; showers don't work; etc.
We left in disgust after a terrible night, but I must give credit for their response to our complaints, which was exemplary. Our feedback was welcomed, assurances of improvement given, and all monies refunded. The staff were excellent in every regard.
Naturally, as things stand, value must be rated as extremely poor, but if they focus effectively on the hotel aspects of their offering, they may be onto something ...
Until then, the recommendation must be to not visit

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that has: - adequate ventilation (some have tiny, single windows); - a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay here! Slightly small rooms but really lovely staff and very clean with great location (city centre and walkable distance for castle and other tourist sites etc). The repurposed church design is obvious from the outside but the interiors are very modern and different in style. Would definitely consider returning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Sayed for 1 night in August. We picked the hotel because it had been positively reviewed in The Times. On the plus side, the staff were absolutely fantastic, really friendly and knowledgeable. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was ok, although for the price of the rooms, it probably should have been included. On the downside, there was no airconditioning in our rooms which was slightly disappointing. We were offered mobile aircon units, but were told they were extremely noisy so we declined. The worst part though was the bathrooms which were in need of an update. The showers were very difficult to use as the heads were not supported properly in their cradles and kept falling out unless you got the water pressure just right. The bathroom in our room was also extremely small and difficult to move around in. So, although it was a relatively nice experience, it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Sozo. We were there for six nights. The staff were just so friendly and courteous and knowledgeable. I had communicated with them prior to our arrival for restaurant recommendations and they didn't disappoint. There is wonderful art all over the main floor and the lobby is very cozy to just sit and read or interact with other guests. The WiFi is fast and reliable.

Yes, the rooms are relatively small (but just how much time do you plan on spending in your room?). The beds were real comfortable, the bathroom is small and the shower works just fine. And if you run out of Nespresso you only need to call the front desk for more.

Breakfast is served in a small but bright room off the lobby. Fresh-squeezed juices, fruits, pastries/bread, etc. are available.

The hotel is literally minutes from the main train station (and a beautiful walk through the Jardin des plantes de Nantes) and within walking distance of most attractions. A tram line (#1) is in front of the station and will connect to other lines all around the city.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we had a "Tentation" room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of August. Had chosen this hotel for its originality (being in a converted church) everything about this hotel is small and neat! We had a standard room, just big enough for a large double bed, bedside tables, a chair and small desk on which was situated a Nespresso machine (nice touch! but only 2 capsules, 1 milk and paper cups! yuck!!!) There was a ridiculously small glass sided cupboard big enough to hang 3 shirts, a safe and a shelf.

The bathing area, a shower, tiny basin and counter, was semi screened by a floor to ceiling radiator. There was a very small separate toilet directly off the bedroom.The bed was very comfortable and had decent full sized pillows. I slept very well.

There is a beautiful park opposite but nothing else close by. The tramway runs at the bottom of the street and provides a very reasonable way to get around. But it really wasn't a nice area to walk in at night, I would not have felt comfortable out alone.

The breakfast was expensive for what you got and considering the price of the rooms, they really should include it in the price. Bar prices on the high side too. I must say, that all the staff we encountered were all very attentive and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask what they have available before you chose a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms, service and attention to detail were excellent, but if you're going to have nespresso machine in the rooms have more that 2 pods, or even some back up instant...great otherwise. Well worth stating. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sozo

Address: 16 rue Frederic Cailliaud, 44000 Nantes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sozo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sozo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.