We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud to your Saves list
Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Allee Baco, 44000 Nantes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It's in a great location in the centre of Nantes close to the Chateau; just a 10 minute walk and close to the great transport links they have in Nantes. On this occasion we stayed 2 nights but paid different rates each night (£78 and £83) and had booked in advance; turning up on the day the rate may be as high as€104. Breakfast is €9.50 per person (eat as much as you like) and there is coffee available all day. Parking is €5 per day. The rooms are small but adequate and what you expect from the cheaper Accor hotels. There is a 24hour bar and a restaurant until 23h. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    176
    45
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
95
60
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Called at this hotel without reservations and we were charged 80 euros for 1 room (double bed) could nt get two single beds.We were,nt expecting the ritz but the rooms were very basic, balcony had discarded cigarette ends all over it.Not enough towels or soaps was,nt impressed.Also had to pay 9.50 euros for breakfast which was very, very limited.I think 40 euros would be overcharging for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and find another hotel for 80 euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've come to realize that people have very different ideas of what a hotel should be. So if you are a hotel diva and only stay in the fancy places, then my 4 dot rating won't apply to you. I am basing this on the idea that you are looking for a comfy and clean room to sleep in and not necessarily the pomp and frills of the fancy hotels.

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. This ibis is a short stroll from the train station and also very easy to get to from where the airport bus stops. Look for the big billboard pointing you in the right direction if you don't know where to go (although it helps if you know French). Check in was extremely fast. My room was clean and had everything you need for a good night's sleep. It was on the small side, but what can you expect for the price (I paid less than 100 Euros). Internet was free and the speed was ok. The neighbourhood seems quiet at night so it was easy to sleep.

Breakfast was decent. It seems like the same spread as in other ibis hotels. Rather carb heavy, but it fills you up for the day. Check out was quick as well. But note that there are renovations happening in the main lobby. I met with a colleague in the morning in the sitting area there and it was very noisy to discuss and work. And as I discovered, if you stay at an ibis in France during the week, you don't get any points with their loyalty club which I find is a weird policy. So even though it's a decent hotel that I can recommend, if I'm going to stay at a chain hotel and get some points, I might as well stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pretty much as you'd expect from an Ibis. Have stayed there twice now and each time it has done the job for a good base whilst working and visiting in the city of Nantes. Breakfast has some nice local touches. Slept very well, good noise-proofing seems to be in place. Not the most charming of places, but the rest of the city more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I just spent 5 nights at the 5th floor of the hotel and it was a good experience. Its location can't be any better - 10 mins walk (with a luggage and a backpack tagging along) to the train station, opposite the "happening" city centre, beautiful Chateau and big garden; the tranquil river promenade, Carrefour, post office and pharmacy are just round the corner behind the hotel. Though the breakfast is basic, the coffee machine dishes out great coffee. Being a city dweller, the little rumbling of the trains in the evening does not bother me at all. Wifi speed in the room is fast too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud

Address: 3 Allee Baco, 44000 Nantes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 m from the railway station, downtown facing the castle of the Duc de Bretagne, and 10 km from the airport, the Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud hotel has 104 air-conditioned rooms, with Wifi Internet access, including 4 adapted for disabled persons and 5 meeting rooms. LA TABLE restaurant, a terrace, a bar, snacks 24/24 and covered pay parking are available. Nantes Convention Centre is only 200 m away. For your evenings out, the Place Graslin theatre is 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Nantes Centre Gare Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.